George Vaughan

Biography

George Vaughan is a lover of all things creative from Tasmania, Australia, who has been writing stories for the last fifteen years. His books will be especially enjoyable for fans of Marcus Sedgewick, Lauren Kate and Laini Taylor.
First published in 2013 with Out There On Bruny, a story serialised in a local newspaper, George's first actual book, Through Unseeing Eyes, arrived in 2016 to raise money for the conservation of local birdlife.
He loves trying all genres and styles, but especially loves it when people have fun reading the end result!

Smashwords Interview

What's the story behind your latest book?
The Chess Players came from a pretty unusual place... I was suffering from terrible writers block, and decided I had to write something, anything, to get me out of the funk. So, I sat in my writing chair and began to riff on an idea I'd been tossing up for a while. The final piece in the puzzle came in the form of an immense lightning storm; as I wrote the first few paragraphs, the house was struck by lightning in quite a spectacular way! Having been looking for some sort of motif I could use, like the titular porpoise of The Porpoise, the storm seemed as good an idea as any. I also really enjoyed setting a book in the Tasmanian Midlands, one of my favourite regions of my home state.
When did you first start writing?
I began writing about fifteen years ago. Being young and rather inexperienced, to say the least, these early stories weren't exactly great reads. You certainly won't see any special editions of them on Smashwords, I can tell you now! However, I still remember how much I loved writing these little tales... and surely that enjoyment counts for something.
Read more of this interview.

Books

The Chess Players
Price: Free! Words: 5,060. Language: English. Published: August 15, 2018. Categories: Fiction » Young adult or teen » Family, Fiction » Coming of age
The greatest storm in fifty years. Three lessons of love. One game of chess. In this heartwarming story, set against a timeless Tasmanian backdrop, young Izzy Hanaleigh gains wisdom that will change the course of her life… if only she can accept it.
The Porpoise
Price: Free! Words: 12,860. Language: English. Published: April 7, 2018. Categories: Fiction » Young adult or teen » Romance, Fiction » Coming of age
(5.00)
Cameron Rose. A legend. Confident, charming… yet secretly tormented by doubt. Beatrice Young. Gentle, quiet and wonderfully trusting… totally unprepared for the things she will learn. On a fateful midwinters’ night in the town of Seagrange, these friends make an astonishing discovery... and neither guess the consequences.

George Vaughan's tag cloud