Jack Kardiac

Biography

Jack Kardiac was born in Siloam Springs, Arkansas and grew up in Tulsa, Oklahoma. He was raised on a steady diet of comic books, Twilight Zone episodes, and Alfred Hitchcock paperbacks. He watches Die Hard every Christmas and Peter Jackson’s King Kong once every summer.

In reality, he likes to make people think, laugh, and change the world for the better. When he writes, he enjoys having people desperately running for their lives. Preferably from a giant monster.

Jack currently lives in the remote jungles of Indonesia where he teaches Creative Writing to young, impressionable minds.

And yes, he has a twin brother.

Smashwords Interview

Where do you get the ideas for your stories?
The majority of my ideas come from reading other books. I love to read, so when I’m getting into a book and trying to predict the direction it’s going to go I’m constantly surprised when the writer’s ability to trip me up. Usually, it’s a satisfying experience. But those times when I don’t like the ending or something else along the way, my mind instantly conjures up ways it could have turned out. If the idea is strong enough and I think it has potential, I’ll jot it down and flesh it out as a full-fledged story later on.
What do you think makes a good story?
My original answer was going to be “giant monsters,” but it occurs to me that not every story I’ve enjoyed has a giant monster in it. So… let me dig a little deeper.

The stories I like have to be pretty simple, without being weighed down with a bunch of needless distractions or chatter. Ideally, they should have a minimum amount of characters, good dialogue, a ticking clock of some sort and have a satisfying end. And by “satisfying end” I mean justice. I’m a sucker for justice, in all its forms. I want the bad guy to get what’s coming to him, and if he happens to lose a toe or a little blood along the way? Well, so be it. Sucks to be a bad guy.
Read more of this interview.

Where to find Jack Kardiac online


Books

Squint: And 10 More Surprising Short Stories
Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 83,140. Language: English. Published: January 14, 2018. Categories: Fiction » Horror » Weird fiction, Fiction » Christian » Short stories
Using a deft mix of humor, horror and humanity, the 11 original stories in Squint feature some of the standard Jack Kardiac themes fans have come to love: creatures, super-powered people and swift justice for all! Whether you're a fan of peculiar children, gifted teens or stranger things, Squint is guaranteed to give you some surprises you won’t soon forget!
Room for One More
Price: Free! Words: 8,170. Language: English. Published: August 16, 2017. Categories: Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Action & suspense, Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - multi-author
A midnight carjacking victim comes up with a permanent solution.
Model Pet
Price: Free! Words: 3,730. Language: English. Published: October 21, 2014. Categories: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author, Fiction » Horror » Weird fiction
A short story from the pages of Snapdragon. A friendly neighbor. One cat. One weekend. What could possibly go wrong? Written for fans of Alfred Hitchcock, Richard Matheson and The Twilight Zone, Snapdragon features seven original short stories you can sink your teeth into.
Snapdragon: And Six More Short Stories with Bite
Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 28,680. Language: English. Published: October 19, 2014. Categories: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author, Fiction » Science fiction » Short stories
(5.00 from 1 review)
Written for fans of Alfred Hitchcock, Richard Matheson and The Twilight Zone, Snapdragon brings you 7 original stories ranging from creepy creatures to unlikely assassins and a few sudden surprises. These are stories to sink your teeth into. But let the reader beware: some of these tales just might bite back…
Orange, Black and Blue
Price: Free! Words: 1,300. Language: English. Published: September 28, 2014. Categories: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author, Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Crime thriller
A starter single from the pages of Snapdragon. When fate catches up with a former baseball star he makes a desperate, last-minute play for freedom. Written for fans of Alfred Hitchcock, Richard Matheson and The Twilight Zone, Snapdragon features seven original stories to sink your teeth into.

Jack Kardiac's tag cloud

Jack Kardiac's favorite authors on Smashwords