Karen Douglass

Biography

Karen Douglass, a Colorado writer, has published short fiction, poems and five books of poetry. She has an MA (Georgia Southern) and an MFA (Vermont College). She has taught writing and literature at Georgia Southern College, LSU-Shreveport and Front Range Community College. She is a co-host for an ongoing poetry reading in Lafayette CO, Cannon Mine Poetry. A member of Lighthouse Writers’ Workshop, Colorado Independent Publishers Association (board member), and Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers, Karen also reviews poetry submissions for American Journal of Nursing. You can find her publication list at www.KVDbooks.com.

Smashwords Interview

What is the greatest joy of writing for you?
Discovery--to see a connection not obvious to me. That might be anything from a startling collision of words to a realization that this work is going in a direction I had not planned. The language opens a door and there's a view I never expected. It's exciting when this happens.
What is your writing process?
I use up a lot of ink and paper. Almost always I begin a draft in longhand. There's a connection between my imagination and the way words crawl across the blue line. I've read that writing by hand we make the letters, whereas in typing we select a ready-made letter, so maybe I tap into a different kind of creativity. If I'm working on poetry, I'll write several drafts before I go to the keyboard. With fiction I print out successive drafts and hand write notes about revisions. At times I stumble over something as I journal and I follow that line. I write every day, often varying among genres. I write early in the morning when the house is quiet or I go to a coffee shop where I have no responsibilities, like letting dogs in or out or thinking about doing laundry.
Read more of this interview.

Where to find Karen Douglass online


Books

Providence
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 75,910. Language: English. Published: February 24, 2017. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Literary
In this sequel to Accidental Child, a young boy, Cobalt, follows his father through a gap in time and lands alone, cold, and confused in Providence RI in the year 2038. The risks from sea level rise increase and by 2050 families, the infrastructure and the economy of the historic city are on the verge of disaster. Finally, reunited with his father, Cobalt must choose to remain in Providence or ret
Accidental Child
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 62,720. Language: English. Published: October 29, 2014. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Literary
(4.00 from 1 review)
A futuristic, dystopian novel in the tradition of Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale and Piercy's Woman on the Edge of Time

Karen Douglass' tag cloud