Karin Rita Gastreich


Karin Rita Gastreich's The Silver Web Trilogy (Eolyn, Sword of Shadows, and Daughter of Aithne), has received praise from top editorial magazines such as Publishers Weekly and Kirkus Reviews. Daughter of Aithne was recently shortlisted for the 2017 OZMA Award in fantasy fiction. In addition to The Silver Web trilogy, Karin has published short stories in Zahir, Adventures for the Average Woman, 69 Flavors of Paranoia, and World Jumping. Karin is a winner of the Women on Writing Flash Fiction Contest and a recipient of the Andrews Forest Writer’s Residency.

An ecologist by trade, Karin’s pastimes include camping, hiking, music, international travel, and flamenco dance. After completing her degrees in biology and zoology, Karin spent many years living and working in Central America before returning to Kansas City, Missouri, where she grew up. She is now a professor of biology at Avila University, where she enjoys sharing her love of life and literature with all her students.

Where to find Karin Rita Gastreich online


The Silver Web
Karin Gastreich's award-winning trilogy blends elements of dark fantasy, historical fiction, and romance. After fleeing the purges that destroyed her home and family, Eolyn returns to the kingdom of Moisehen to fight an oppressive, violent regime and restore women’s magic to her people. If you like brave heroines, troubled heroes, and twisted villains embroiled in an epic struggle that spans generations, this is the adventure for you! Discover a world of gripping battles, heart wrenching loss, hard-won triumphs, and the ultimate magic of love. “Lush, evocative descriptions carry readers through an unforgettable journey.” –Kirkus Reviews "Eolyn is a stand-out character." -Publishers Weekly


Daughter of Aithne (Book Three of The Silver Web)
Series: The Silver Web. Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 117,130. Language: English. Published: June 6, 2018. Categories: Fiction » Fantasy » Epic, Fiction » Women's fiction » General
In the climactic finale to The Silver Web trilogy, threads of love, honor, betrayal, and vengeance culminate in a violent conflict between powerful women, opposed to each other yet destined to shatter a thousand-year cycle of war. Winner of the OZMA Award for Fantasy Fiction. “An enticing and elegant series finale filled with magic and turmoil.” –Kirkus Reviews.
Sword of Shadows (Book Two of The Silver Web)
Series: The Silver Web. Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 115,410. Language: English. Published: April 12, 2018. Categories: Fiction » Fantasy » Dark, Fiction » Fantasy » Epic
Sisters in magic, Eolyn and Adiana seek to revive a millennial tradition once forbidden to women. When entrenched rivalries of a violent patriarchy explode into war, chaos shatters their dream. Paths separated but spirits united, they struggle to find a future where women's magic can flourish again. “Lush, evocative descriptions carry readers through an unforgettable journey.” –KIRKUS REVIEWS
Eolyn (Book One of The Silver Web)
Series: The Silver Web. Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 112,420. Language: English. Published: March 22, 2018. Categories: Fiction » Fantasy » General, Fiction » Fantasy » Epic
Sole heiress to a forbidden craft, Eolyn faces down a realm of powerful wizards and brutal deceptions in a desperate bid to revive women's magic. Book One of the critically acclaimed Silver Web Trilogy will thrill you with dark lyrical imagery, heart-wrenching loss, and timeless heroism. “Vigorously told deceptions and battle scenes...with a romantic thread.” – Publishers Weekly

Smashwords book reviews by Karin Rita Gastreich

  • Maginaugh, Book One of The Fair and Fey on March 20, 2013

    The greatest strength of J. Ellyne’s debut novel is its setting: prehistoric North America, approximately 9,000 years ago. Maginaugh portrays the conflicts and alliances of three very different cultures living in the region of the Great Lakes. The fantasy aspect of the novel arises not so much from magic, but from a well-imagined alternative history in a region that rarely gets attention from this genre. The cast of characters is large and varied, as are their sexual preferences. J. Ellyne crafts romances in various stages of development (everything on the spectrum from innocent new love to seasoned, stable commitment can be found in this story), and interweaves these against an impressive backdrop of tragedy, vengeance, and war. I’ve settled on a 4-star rating mostly because I think there are certain aspects of writing style and story delivery could use some polish. Nonetheless, with this first novel, Ellyne has established herself as a promising new voice in fantasy. I am very much looking forward to reading the companion novels to Maginaugh.