Jack Ketchum


Jack Ketchum’s first novel, Off Season, prompted the Village Voice to publicly scold its publisher in print for publishing violent pornography. He personally disagrees but is perfectly happy to let you decide for yourself. His short story The Box won a 1994 Bram Stoker Award from the HWA, his story Gone won again in 2000 — and in 2003 he won Stokers for both best collection for Peaceable Kingdom and best long fiction for Closing Time. He has written twelve novels, arguably thirteen, five of which have been filmed – The Girl Next Door, Red, The Lost,Offspring and The Woman, written with Lucky McKee. His stories are collected in The Exit at Toledo Blade Boulevard, Peaceable Kingdom, Closing Time and Other Stories, and Sleep Disorder, with Edward Lee. His horror-western novella The Crossings was cited by Stephen King in his speech at the 2003 National Book Awards. He was elected Grand Master for the 2011 World Horror Convention.

Where to find Jack Ketchum online

Where to buy in print


The Transformed Mouse
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 4,220. Language: English. Published: September 5, 2011 by Biting Dog Publications. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Fairy tales
Here's something from the delightfully warped mind of Jack Ketchum! The Transformed Mouse: A Fable That's right folks, a fable! One for adults though, adapted from the 2nd century Panchatantra. And unless you're afraid of the elements, or of mice, there's nary a scare in it. Just good wacky fun!

Jack Ketchum’s tag cloud