Nathan Squiers


Born in Massachusetts in 1986, Nathan Squiers (The Literary Dark Emperor) grew up in Andover, where his affinity for story-telling flourished due to a love of books and movies as well as an overactive imagination. At the age of 13, Nathan and his mother moved to Upstate New York to be closer to their family.

After surviving public school, where he spent most of his days locked away in the AV room watching old 80s movies on Laserdisc and planning out his next video project, Nathan began a shaky college career. A love of weaving tales and telling stories was motivation enough to pursue an education in English, and, as luck would have it, a series of phenomenal professors were available to get him pointed in the right direction. It was in his first years of college that Nathan began to actively pursue a writing career, starting his first literary journey with a piece that would later become "Noir", the first book of the Crimson Shadow series.

Like any good story, a chaotic turn of events brought Nathan from the very brink of insanity and loneliness to the warm, comforting embrace of Megan, his best friend, lover, kindred spirit, and--more often than not--personal handler. It was with Megan at his side that Nathan was able to continue his writing (sometimes solely motivated by the young lady's threats of dismemberment if he tried to stop). With Megan's help, Nathan was able to see Death Metal, his fourth manuscript, through the publication process.

Nearly ten years later, The Literary Dark Emperor continues to invent stories and put them into a literary sequence that he hopes will be somehow decipherable by other readers. As a lover of all things creative, he works in both novels, novellas, short stories, as well as comic book scripts (just don't ask him to draw something if you don't like stick figures and poorly-executed shapes).

If he's not submerged in the realm of fiction or burning out his retinas with horror movie marathons, Nathan is planning/getting a new piercing/tattoo or enjoying life with his lovely fiancé and fellow author, Megan J. Parker.

Where to find Nathan Squiers online


Crimson Shadow: The Dirty Dozen
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 46,540. Language: English. Published: January 28, 2014 by Tiger Dynasty Publishing. Categories: Fiction » Fantasy » Paranormal, Fiction » Anthologies » Horror
Twelve twisted tales from the Crimson Shadow series (set between books one and two)
Crimson Shadow: Noir
Series: Crimson Shadow Series. Price: Free! Words: 92,840. Language: English. Published: January 19, 2014 by Tiger Dynasty Publishing. Categories: Fiction » Fantasy » Paranormal, Fiction » Mashups
Xander Stryker wants to die. Ever since witnessing his mother's murder at the hands of his abusive stepfather when he was a boy, he has spent every day trying to reach that goal. But every night he's denied the death he craves. As his eighteenth birthday approaches, a chance for change is offered when his life is plunged into a supernatural world of vampires and other creatures of darkness.
Forbidden Paints on a Wicked Canvas
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 5,070. Language: English. Published: March 21, 2013 by Tiger Dynasty Publishing. Categories: Fiction » Fantasy » Short stories
Short prequel into the mind of a artist where she gets the vision of the "Crimson Shadow" known as Xander Stryker.
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 8,820. Language: English. Published: March 21, 2013 by Tiger Dynasty Publishing. Categories: Fiction » Fantasy » Paranormal
Short prequel to the "Crimson Shadow" series by Nathan Squiers
A Howl at the Moon
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 3,660. Language: English. Published: February 13, 2013 by Tiger Dynasty Publishing. Categories: Fiction » Romance » Paranormal, Fiction » Gay & lesbian fiction » Gay
A short paranormal romance featuring two therion (werewolf) lovers (m/m) struggling against the prejudice of the human world.

Nathan Squiers' tag cloud