Lynette S. Jones


I was born in Tucson Arizona, but never really lived there. We moved to Washington State and stayed there until I was five. We then moved to Simi Valley, California where I stayed until I was 19. I was encouraged to pursue writing by a few of my English teachers in high school. I took their advice and began to write.

I took creative writing and literature classes throughout my college years and after. I have been writing for many years for pleasure and have just recently released my novels as e-books. The Saga of Preterlandis series is now available in paperback. See my website for details. I hope that my readers enjoy reading my offerings as much as I enjoyed writing them.

I live with my husband, and family in Eastern Washington, where the Yakima and Columbia Rivers merge.
When I'm not writing I make my living by writing computer applications, designing small customized databases or working as a designer on industrial construction projects.

I am looking for people to review my books and submit the reviews to or to If you are interested contact me at

Smashwords Interview

When did you first start writing?
I have always made up stories in my mind. I started writing them down in my twenties. I appreciate that the ebook medium is now available to allow me to share my stories with others.
What's the story behind your latest books?
My latest novel, Then Will Come A Warrior, is the final book in the Saga of Preterlandis Series. Brenth, a warrior and a seer, has been chosen to lead the people of Solea and Sylphia to safety as the world they know is being torn apart by the evil that Rengailai and the Dark Lord introduced into Preterlandis. The time has come for Jovan's plan to be put into motion.

My latest offerings in the Romantic Suspense genre are Treacherous Waters and Second Chances. They are earlier works. I have always enjoyed Romantic Suspense and it was the genre I chose when I first started writing novel length books. Both are set in Washington state. Treacherous Waters is based near the Washington Coast, Second chances is based in Eastern Washington in cherry orchard country.

Treacherous Waters is about an investigation that has gone wrong and how Elise Lapier must flee to a hiding spot on the Washington coast until her supervisors can sort out the problem. Unfortunately, all does not go well. While she is on the Coast, she discovers that there is far more to this problem than she knew and she is running out of time to solve the mystery.

Second Chances is about the new preacher in Cherryton, who is asked to look into some small thefts that are taking place in the house of one of his members. But almost before he can start to investigate, things take a turn for the worse and the church member is murdered. Jed promises he will discover who killed her, no matter where the investigation takes him, even if it leads to his new secretary Kate who he would like to get to know better.
Read more of this interview.

Where to find Lynette S. Jones online

Where to buy in print


Treacherous Memories
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 85,320. Language: English. Published: April 20, 2016. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Amateur sleuth, Fiction » Mystery & detective » Cozy
Eighteen months after a car hit her and left her for dead, Emma walked out of the private nursing home and back into her life. If only she could remember the events that led up to the accident and who had tried to kill her. Why had she forgotten everything before the accident? Who or what did she not want to remember?
Treacherous Business
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 74,600. Language: English. Published: June 28, 2014. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » General
Found innocent of Kari Sutherland's murder, Gennie immerses herself in running the employment agency she and Kari had established. Her best friend's death, Tim's betrayal, and the ensuing accusations had almost destroyed her. Now, when history seems to be repeating itself, Tim reappears. They must work together to discover the truth about Kari's death before Gennie becomes the next victim.
Then Will Come A Warrior
Series: Saga of Preterlandis, Book 3. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 206,090. Language: English. Published: January 16, 2014. Categories: Fiction » Fantasy » Epic
Then Will Come A Warrior is the third book in the Saga of Preterlandis series. Book three is the story of Brenth, a seer and a warrior who has been chosen to fulfill a prophecy. He must find a way to save the people of Solea and Preterlandis before it is too late. Book three is the conclusion to the Saga of Preterlandis Series.
Second Chances
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 81,910. Language: English. Published: November 29, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » General, Fiction » Romance » Suspense
Jed, the new preacher in town, knew something about everyone, except his secretary Kate. Kate preferred it that way. But what she preferred didn't matter after Olivia asked for Jed's help and then was found dead. Jed promised that he would find Olivia's killer. He hoped he'd have a second chance with Kate after she was accused of killing the woman who'd help her change her life.
Treacherous Waters
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 69,230. Language: English. Published: August 29, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » General, Fiction » Romance » Suspense
Elise is in trouble. The man she has been investigating is now stalking her. Running away, she flees to a secluded cove on the rugged Washington coast, where she meets Adam. Convinced that Elise came to him for help, he will help her, but only if she tells him the identity of the man who killed his fiance. Running out of time, she has to discover the identity of the man or die.
Second Comes the One Who Seeks
Series: Saga of Preterlandis, Book 2. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 194,040. Language: English. Published: April 15, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Fantasy » Epic, Fiction » Fantasy » General
Second Comes the One Who Seeks continues the Saga of Preterlandis that began in First Comes the One Who Wanders. The resistance is failing and those who are fighting for the light magic are being pushed out of their homes and their land. The last of those called out as a Chosen One begins her journey to help save the land and the light magic. Book Two in the Saga of Preterlandis Series.
First Comes The One Who Wanders
Series: Saga of Preterlandis, Book 1. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 204,790. Language: American English. Published: April 15, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Fantasy » Epic, Fiction » Fantasy » General
There is an evil threatening to destroy the balance of power between the light and dark magic. A prophecy calls three to save the land, a crafter, a healer and a warrior. As the land begins to fall to the dark magic, the three Chosen Ones must discover their destiny and their duty if the world and the light magic are going to survive. First book in the Saga of Preterlandis series.

Lynette S. Jones' tag cloud

adventure    amateur sleuth    coast    cozy    crime    elves    epic    fantasy    female lead    magic    murder    murder and romance    mystery    ocean    pacific    pacific northwest    prophecy    romance    romantic suspense    series    suspense    washington    washington state