Margo Ander


Ever since I learned to write, I have been secretly concocting epic tales with a dark and devious twist. Unfortunately, I was also a night owl and a seat-of-my-pants writer, so my characters always ended up in situations from which there was no escape—which forced me to learn the craft side of storytelling, and the miracle of outlining. When I started getting up at 0230 hours instead of going to bed at that time, I discovered—who knew!—that I wrote much better when fully-conscious. Despite predictions, when I published my debut novel, REBEL: Legend of the Spider-Prince #1, the world didn’t come to an end; I didn’t even lose my day job.

I like guy talk, doing the kind of stuff that mostly guys like to do, and hanging out with guys—heck, I’m even married to one! During my Air Force career, I was an aircraft maintenance officer and a Minuteman missile combat crew commander. I earned Expert Marksmanship ribbons with both the M-16 and .38 Colt Combat Commander—both left-handed and right-handed. I’ve fenced, shot longbows, and given mounted archery demonstrations. I’ve practiced ninpo, drawn blood with my first sword, and continue to study military science. I’ve competed in Combined Training horse trials, and trained horses in dressage, jumping, and saber-duels—and collected plenty of injuries, saving myself tons of research!

Upcoming 2016 releases in the Legend of the Spider-Prince series include the audiobook version of REBEL: Legend of the Spider-Prince #1, and two novel-length collections of enhancement novellas—PRELUDES: Legend of the Spider-Prince #0.5 and REPERCUSSIONS: Legend of the Spider-Prince #1.5—a double-dose of intrigue, treachery, and diabolical schemes that will raise stakes and lower life expectancies in anticipation of the 2017 release of ROGUE: Legend of the Spider-Prince #2.

If you enjoy my books, please join my tribe! Visit me on the web at and sign up for my newsletter to receive the first news about upcoming releases and special appreciation for your support.

Socialize with me on Facebook at
and on Twitter @MargoAnder.

Thanks for reading!

Where to find Margo Ander online

Where to buy in print


REBEL: Legend of the Spider-Prince #1
Series: Legend of the Spider-Prince, Book 1. Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 148,060. Language: American English. Published: July 15, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Fantasy » Epic, Fiction » Young adult or teen » Fantasy
An epic fantasy with a dark and devious twist, set in a land where men have unbridled influence, but women hold the reins of power. When blood-feud and rebellion lead to war, a young rebel becomes entangled in a deadly web of magic, intrigue, and revenge as a conspiracy threatens to overturn governments, collapse civilization, even endanger the existence of life on Eryth—and make him a legend.

Margo Ander's tag cloud

Margo Ander's favorite authors on Smashwords

Smashwords book reviews by Margo Ander

  • The Queen's Blade on July 04, 2013

    The world of this story is unique. Everyone born there has an affinity for an animal that they bond with for life—the animal’s life is bound up with theirs, so shorter-lived animals enjoy an extended lifespan. People’s natures are expressed by the animals they bond with and attributes they share with their bond animal are accentuated. There are cat-kin, bird-kin, snake-kin, even insect-kin. These bonded pairs communicate together and are so close that nothing is more traumatic than to survive the loss of one’s bond-animal. The story is about an assassin who has no bond-animal. His horrific past has led him to claim that he doesn’t care about anything, least of all whether he lives or dies, which has made his reputation as an assassin because he takes on risky jobs. The law in this land is that the crime of the assassination is against the client who hires the assassin rather than the assassin himself, but that doesn’t make assassins respectable, though they have a guild and some rather rigid ethical restrictions to distinguish them from common murderers. Because assassins are forbidden to kill each other, they obtain status within their guild not by body counts, but by displaying their deadly skills in a “dance of death” that is judged on artistic merit by acclaim of the other assassins. The finest assassin in a city is called the Master of the Dance. Blade is the Master of the Dance in Jashimara’s capital city. His country has been involved in the Endless War with the Cotti, fierce desert warriors, and the new queen is determined to bring it to an end and has consulted an oracle on how to stop the war. The answer she obtained will demand all her courage to see it through—and she needs someone to carry out the first step—infiltrating the Cotti lands and the Cotti army to kill the Cotti king and kidnap the king’s grown heir, and bring the prince back to her. There is no shortage of gallant and accomplished warriors who volunteer, but don’t return, with or without the prince. Blade is twenty-eight, the age when most assassins are either dead or ready to retire because their skills are starting to slip, and the queen has offered the tantalizing reward of nobility and a rich estate. Blade persuades the queen to let him try to accomplish the mission, and in doing so, becomes entangled in the political intrigues of both countries—neither of whose political elite are the least bit interested in an unprofitable peace. I enjoyed the plot, but the thing that made this book—and the series—hard to put down was the character development of Blade as he reclaims his humanity, and despite his claims to the contrary, becomes a true hero. The series runs for six books, plus two prequels that do not need to be read first. I bought all of them. T. C. Southwell has several other series available, and all the first books are free. I bought two other series, The Demon Lord series and The Cyber Chronicles. I’ve reread all of them, but the Queen’s Blade series is one of the best I’ve read—and re-read—in recent memory.