Michel Vaillancourt


I was born just after man landed on the moon. I grew up with New Wave and Friday Night Videos as the soundtrack to my teen years. My first computer was a Commodore 64 that I bought with money I earned from Sea Cadet camp. I was a geek when it wasn't cool, tapped into an international FidoNet and an Internet no one knew about at 1200 baud.

My Mom was a Navy Wife; my Dad was an Officer and a gentleman. I stole my Dad's National Geographic and Popular Science magazines. My Mom gave me her wisdom, patience and and enough rope.

The Berlin Wall fell during my first try at University. I served during the Persian Gulf War as the first shocks of the New World Order started rippling outwards.

I was married, had a wonderful son, and divorced. I've gotten remarried, to an amazing friend and bright light in my world.

I'm into Steampunk, the Society for Creative Anachronism, table-top Role-Playing Games, and MMORPG gaming. Hal-Con, WolfCon, NovaCon, ConSeption, DraCONis, Steamcon.

I'm a 25-year IT proffessional that started with NetWare. I'm an entrepreneur, running the JKL-5 Group. I'm an author, writing The Sauder Diaries.

I've been around the world in 180 days. I'm thinking about building an Earthship. I still fight with swords.

I'm a bit complicated, a bit hard-nosed and a bit soft-hearted. My friends are my awesome.

Where to find Michel Vaillancourt online

Where to buy in print


The Sauder Diaries - A Bloodier Rose
Series: The Sauder Diaries, Book 2. Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 103,810. Language: English. Published: October 20, 2012. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » Steampunk & retropunk, Fiction » Adventure » Action
Set in the summer of 1888, A Bloodier Rose is the second book in The Sauder Diaries series. Picking up where By Any Other Name left off, Hans, Annika and the rest of the crew of the pirate airship “Bloody Rose” are once again called upon by the Allied Empires. An ancient weather weapon is at risk of falling into the hands of the Russian Empire, and the Bloody Rose is in a race against time.
The Sauder Diaries - By Any Other Name
Series: The Sauder Diaries, Book 1. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 98,840. Language: English. Published: September 15, 2012. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » Steampunk & retropunk, Fiction » Romance » Action/adventure
A Steampunk airship-pirate adventure-romance in the tradition of Jules Verne, Herman Melville & Robert Howard.

Michel Vaillancourt's tag cloud