Q. V. Hunter

Biography

Q. V. Hunter is the author of eleven best-selling Embers of Empire novels, the richly-researched espionage-adventure series set among the 'agentes in rebus,' the imperial intelligence agents of the 4th century Late Roman Empire. CONTACT the Castra Peregrina for free chapters, e-book coupons, and intelligence leaks at www.qvhunter.com or follow the author on Twitter @qv_hunter. Don't miss out! The final full-length adventure for Marcus Numidianus is heading up the Cursus Publicus in 2024.

Where to find Q. V. Hunter online

Series

The Embers of Empire
A unique action adventure espionage series set in the post-Constantine Late Roman Empire. Recruitment into the agentes-in-rebus service takes freedman Marcus Gregorianus Numidianus from his birthplace in Roman North Africa to the wilds of the disputed Northern Rhine border and the eunuch-ridden court of Antiochia in the East. A rare and exciting fictional look at the mid-4th century for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Steven Saylor and Robert Harris. Includes maps, Latin glossaries and rich historical notes on Rome's final decades before irrevocable barbarian incursions marked the embers of a dying Western Empire.
The Veiled Assassin, a Novel of the Late Roman Empire
Price: $2.99 USD. (Free until March 9!)
Usurpers, A Novel of the Late Roman Empire
Price: $5.99 USD. (Free until March 9!)
The Back Gate to Hell, a Novel of the Late Roman Empire
Price: $5.99 USD. (Free until March 9!)
The Wolves of Ambition, a Novel of the Late Roman Empire
Price: $5.99 USD. (Free until March 9!)
The Deadly Caesar, a Novel of the Late Roman Empire
Price: $5.99 USD. (Free until March 9!)
The Burning Stakes, A Novel of the Late Roman Empire
Price: $5.99 USD. (Free until March 9!)

Books

The Burning Stakes, A Novel of the Late Roman Empire
Series: The Embers of Empire, Book 6. Price: $5.99 USD. (Free until March 9!) Words: 117,870. Language: English. Published: February 11, 2016 by Eyes and Ears. Categories: Fiction » Historical » Classical Greece & Rome, Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Action & suspense
Emperor Julian offers his military enemies a free hand over a show trial purging the late Constantius II's court. Agent Numidianus finds his headquarters under a new chief and his ailing intelligence chief Apodemius gone missing. With a trusted few, he protects the Magister’s most vulnerable secret ever— while defending himself against charges that will tie him to the executioner's stake.
The Deadly Caesar, a Novel of the Late Roman Empire
Series: The Embers of Empire, Book 5. Price: $5.99 USD. (Free until March 9!) Words: 126,940. Language: English. Published: April 3, 2015 by Eyes and Ears. Categories: Fiction » Historical » Classical Greece & Rome, Fiction » Adventure » Action
Imperial agent Numidianus gets more trouble than he expects when recruiting barbarian informers. The fiery Alemanna Gunda agrees to testify before an imperial hearing pitting the bookish Caesar Julian against his resentful general. But is Gunda’s evidence backing Julian only a self-serving lie? With action and intrigue, the Embers of Empire series is delighting Cornwell, Saylor and Harris fans.
The Wolves of Ambition, a Novel of the Late Roman Empire
Series: The Embers of Empire, Book 4. Price: $5.99 USD. (Free until March 9!) Words: 127,190. Language: English. Published: March 4, 2015 by Eyes and Ears. Categories: Fiction » Historical » Classical Greece & Rome, Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Spies & espionage
Agent Numidianus must spy on a rising Franco-Roman hero rescuing Roman Gaul from Alemannic raiders. General Silvanus once betrayed Marcus’ father but later saved Marcus himself from execution. Is Silvanus now the man to save the Roman Empire of the West—or destroy it? Should Marcus warn him of treachery in Emperor Constantius II’s court or let the Fates exact revenge on his behalf?
The Veiled Assassin, a Novel of the Late Roman Empire
Series: The Embers of Empire, Book 1. Price: $2.99 USD. (Free until March 9!) Words: 104,330. Language: English. Published: February 10, 2014 by Eyes and Ears. Categories: Fiction » Historical » Classical Greece & Rome, Fiction » Historical » Ancient
(5.00 from 1 review)
"The Veiled Assassin" is the first in Q. V. Hunter’s ground-breaking espionage adventure series, ‘The Embers of Empire,’ introducing Roman fiction fans to a little-used setting, (when the Republic and Imperium periods had become fading memories) through the eyes a freedman spy, the bastard of a fading noble Roman clan. A treat for fans of Robert Harris, Bernard Cornwell, and Lindsey Davis.
The Back Gate to Hell, a Novel of the Late Roman Empire
Series: The Embers of Empire, Book 3. Price: $5.99 USD. (Free until March 9!) Words: 137,730. Language: English. Published: January 24, 2014 by Eyes and Ears. Categories: Fiction » Historical » Ancient, Fiction » Historical » Classical Greece & Rome
Roman agent Numidianus' mission to spy on Caesar Gallus and his vicious consort Constantia tosses him into Antioch's cesspool of corruption. This third adventure in the Embers of Empire pits Marcus against the warring heirs to the Constantine dynasty and the eunuchs who rule them. Can Marcus save the Empire? More important, can he save his son Leo from mutilation by the Chief Eunuch, Eusebius?
Usurpers, A Novel of the Late Roman Empire
Series: The Embers of Empire, Book 2. Price: $5.99 USD. (Free until March 9!) Words: 126,580. Language: English. Published: September 1, 2013 by Eyes and Ears. Categories: Fiction » Historical » Classical Greece & Rome, Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Spies & espionage
Intelligence agent Marcus must escape the court of Emperor Constans after he uncovers the humiliating secret of the young ruler's vice-ridden entourage. But his flight lands him in greater danger—a delicate assignment to investigate a military conspiracy to usurp Constans’ throne. Worse, this mission means spying on the very man whose trust Marcus craves more than anything.