Richard Alexander


Richard Alexander grew up in Sydney, NSW, but spent a lot of time at Mittagong in the NSW Southern Highlands, and his love for everything ‘country’ has never waned since those childhood days.

With a lust to wander throughout Australia, he regularly took off in his car to experience life in the country, on the land.

The words in his first book ‘Love is Sufficient’, (publ. Vantage Press, 1978) revealed this poet’s vulnerability following the passing of a young woman he loved.

Apart from showing his continuing vulnerability, this new work shows Mr Alexander’s ability to create word pictures in this personal collection of love and loss, adding a whole new dimension for his readers to experience.

He now lives on the NSW far north coast with his wife. They have four children and five grandchildren.

Smashwords Interview

How do you approach cover design?
When I thought about the contents of the book, I felt that the photo on the cover represented the place spoken about.
What are your five favorite books, and why?
My favourite books have been those written by an amazing American poet, Rod McKuen. His style of writing diagonally on the page had so much impact on me that I began to do the same. Of his books, probably "Fields of Wonder", "Come to me in Silence", "Caught in the Quiet", and "The Sounds of Solitude" are my favourites.
Read more of this interview.


Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 7,940. Language: Australian English. Published: October 26, 2017. Categories: Fiction » Poetry » Australian & Oceanian, Fiction » Poetry » Australian & Oceanian
"Consequences" is a collection of romantic poems by Australian poet, Richard Alexander, who shows a vulnerability, as well as a capacity to create word pictures as he writes about love and loss. His introduction of "a something-year-old blue and white kelpie" named Mr Hardy shows yet another side to the poet.

Richard Alexander's tag cloud