Robert Deming

Biography

I live in Fredericksburg, Texas, work as an independent financial advisor, and write stories. I see them as modern westerns in the tradition of Zane Grey and Louis L'Amour, but without the horses and cows. The stories take place amid grand western landscapes and my protagonists are honest and true. To date I have written three novels with Texas park police officers are the principle characters; men who carry a gun but don't need it to keep their territory safe. I know these landscapes intimately through hours and hours of walking in them and getting to know their people.

Smashwords Interview

What's the story behind your latest book?
In recent years I have vacationed in Fort Davis, which is quite a bit different from the urbanized part of Texas. Like we say when we're there, "There's nothing to do in Fort Davis, and we're good at it." After the Rock House Fire of 2011, I was walking in the Davis Mountains and saw that with the trees and grass gone, the whole place is made of rock. I made a friend there and heard stories about the place. When I was looking around for a story to follow my Enchanted Rock stories, Fort Davis kept coming to mind.
What motivated you to become an indie author?
I haven't got a chance in hell of getting traditionally published. I believe my writing is as good as anyone in my genre, but it is a crowded field. I don't have time to chase a publisher.
Read more of this interview.

Where to find Robert Deming online


Where to buy in print


Books

Fort Davis Rocks
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 70,040. Language: English. Published: November 30, 2014. Categories: Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Action & suspense
Thriller set in the high desert of Fort Davis Texas. The police officer at the state park; the daughter of a rancher gone 30 years and now a trial lawyer; a best selling writer looking for peace and quiet to finish his current novel; a poetic bartender; a greedy banker, and a malevolent motorcycle gang member who stays behind when the rest of the gang leave, all collide as wildfire threatens.

Robert Deming's tag cloud