Grace LaJoy Henderson


Grace LaJoy Henderson began writing at a very early age, keeping her first poem when she was only 12 years old. Over the years she shared her poems with family, friends, at school and at church. Her professional writing career began in 2003 when she wrote and published her first book of poetry, for which she received an endorsement from the famous author and motivational speaker, Les Brown. She went on to write over 20 books, like Writer’s Breakthrough to help aspiring authors who do not know where to begin, and her foster care story, A Gifted Child in Foster Care: A story of resilience.

Grace LaJoy’s graduate degrees are in the fields of Education, and Curriculum and Instruction. Her under-graduate degree is in Social Psychology. She has served youth in public school, church, and community settings. She enjoys talking, reading stories, and sharing poetry with youth and adult groups. 

Her most recent accomplishment is completing the The Gracie Series, a set of 6 children's books.

Smashwords Interview

What inspired you to create The Gracie Series?
‚ÄčI became inspired to create The Gracie Series after I got an idea to write one children’s book entitled, "Popcorn Behind the Bush." As I was writing "Popcorn Behind the Bush" just for fun, more entertaining stories from my childhood started coming to me. So, I wrote about ten children’s stories back-to-back, then, narrowed my series down to 6 of the stories. The name Gracie was inspired by the fact that I was affectionately called “Gracie” by my siblings when I was a little girl. I hope to add more books to The Gracie Series in the future.
Why a children's book collection?
I chose to write a children’s collection because all of the stories that came to my mind, while I was writing "Popcorn Behind the Bush," were entertaining stories from my childhood memories. They are stories I have shared verbally over the years just to get a funny reaction out of people. So, I decided to design the stories in a way that children could enjoy them for years to come.
Read more of this interview.

Where to find Grace LaJoy Henderson online

Where to buy in print


The Gracie Series - Available Now!
Meet the lovable Gracie! All new! Series of 6 new children's books written and illustrated by Grace LaJoy Henderson. Titles include: Popcorn Behind the Bush Cake in My Shoe Water in His Face Math on the Table I Trimmed My Edges Puppy Ate My Shorts! Collect them all at

Popcorn Behind the Bush - Promo
Can Gracie decipher a note left by the mailman and solve the mystery of the missing tin of popcorn?


Popcorn Behind the Bush
Price: Free! Words: 450. Language: English. Published: April 14, 2018. Categories: Fiction » Children’s books » Readers / Beginner, Fiction » African American fiction » General
(4.00 from 1 review)
A delightful little mystery about a tin of popcorn. When Grandma sends popcorn in the mail and Gracie does not receive it, Gracie goes on a hunt to find out if her family members can help her decipher a note left by the mailman. Gracie is just about to give up hope when she finally solves the mystery! Popcorn Behind the Bush is the first fun-to-read book in the Gracie Series.

Grace LaJoy Henderson's tag cloud