Vicki Arnott

Biography

I am a new author who is very excited and proud to introduce my first book. Since childhood, writing has been one of my loves, and writing a book one of my dreams.

I am very fortunate to have been born and raised in New Zealand, by parents who possessed imagination, each with a fun sense of humour and each, in their way, excellent story-tellers.

My love of science fiction and fantasy was developed early, by television shows like “Lost in Space,” “The Tomorrow People,” and my all-time favourite, “Star Trek.” I spent many Saturday afternoons watching movies, old westerns with my Grandad, and musicals, which continue to be my favourites today. I was also an avid reader, and a book which made a lasting impact was “Freedom Train,” a book about Harriet Tubman, a slave who helped many others escape to freedom. This book fired my passion for freedom and social justice, a theme which has found its way into my own book.

I’ve spent the last twenty-eight years working as a primary school teacher and raising my two sons. Through those years I’ve managed to spend some time as a member of our local drama club, learning to paint, dabbling with photography, playing an occasional game of tennis or golf, walking, gardening and watching lots of movies. I have travelled to Australia, Europe and the USA.

As a school teacher I have faced many challenges, and learned a lot, but also had a lot of fun. School drama productions have always been a highlight for me. I love the music, dance and costumes, and all the drama that goes on behind the scenes as well as on stage. Fostering a love of literacy in children, watching their eyes light up with enthusiasm as they share their excitement for the things they discover, is a true joy and a source of inspiration for me.

As a teacher, I am also concerned about the many negative influences on young people today. I have written my first book for children, but I think adults will enjoy it too. My intention was to produce a fun, exciting and entertaining story which presented positive values. I think I have succeeded, and I hope you agree.

Where to find Vicki Arnott online


Books

The Crystal Bluebird
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 52,620. Language: English (New Zealand dialect). Published: July 5, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Fantasy » Contemporary, Fiction » Children’s books » Action & Adventure / Pirates
(5.00 from 1 review)
The Crystal Bluebird is a delightful kid’s adventure that will appeal to fans of The Wizard of Oz, The Narnia Chronicles, A Wrinkle in Time, and The Never-Ending Story. Readers who love fantasy, magic, and fairy tales will love this modern fairy-tale adventure set in an imaginary world filled with magical creatures, wonderful characters, and contemporary elements with a twist.

Vicki Arnott's tag cloud