Alan Skinner

Biography

I've been many things in my life but they were all just slices of time layered on the one foundation - a writer. Sometimes you forget what you are and some times you just think I'll get around to it when the rain stops. Be careful about that; there are more rainy days than you think there will be when you're young.

Now all I do is write - and spend more time than I ever thought I would letting people know about the books I write. These days, it seems to come with the job but I find I do really like it when people get in touch with me and ask me things or say thank you. It's great.

Some people ask if I use all the things I've been in my writing. I don't think I've written enough yet to have used even a small part of what's happened in my life. I've been fortunate to live in wonderful places: Boston, Melbourne, London, Zurich. Great things have happened in all those places.

But you don't really want to know about me. The best part of me is what I write. So I'll stop here and let you get back to reading my books. If you do want to ask more, just get in touch.

Where to find Alan Skinner online


Books

Brimstone
By Alan Skinner
Series: Earth, Air, Fire and Water, Book One. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 79,360. Language: English. Published: June 19, 2013. Category: Fiction
Taken from her home to be apprenticed to the world's greatest alchemist, Jenny Swift enters a world different from anything she could have imagined. Frightened and friendless, she has only her courage, intelligence and talents she doesn't realise she possesses to help her survive the nightmare world of murder, intrigue and betrayal. Jenny finds that to save her world she must first save herself.
Furnaces of Forge
By Alan Skinner
Series: The Land's Tale, Book Two. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 77,070. Language: English. Published: June 19, 2013. Category: Fiction
The second book in The Land's Tale series is darker and edgier than the first, the brilliant Blue Fire and Ice. The same humour and quirkiness are still evident but the action is more relentless and the peril facing the Land more immediate and personal. Nonetheless, it is still a book for adventurous readers who are not afraid of being taken to new places, and who love to travel with good writing.
Blue Fire and Ice
By Alan Skinner
Series: The Land's Tale, Book One. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 107,350. Language: English. Published: June 18, 2013. Category: Fiction
An original and brilliant take on fantasy and imagination in the tradition of Alice in Wonderland and The Wind in The Willows. This is a gripping adventure fantasy filled with humour and irresistible characters set in a beautifully realised fantasy world that will enchant teens and adults alike. Blue Fire and Ice is the first book in The Land's Tale series.

Alan Skinner’s tag cloud