Matt D. Williams


Matt Williams is a Canadian independent author from Welland, Ontario. He is the creator of the Jak Phoenix space adventure series, spawning two full-length novels and a short story with several more books planned for the series.

Growing up, Matt’s main love was the television and movies of the 80’s and 90’s, like Star Wars, Star Trek, Back to the Future, Indiana Jones and countless other TV shows and films. His love of unbridled adventure spills into his novels, where the focus is letting both the reader and the characters have fun together, sharing in the dangerous dilemmas and daring escapes before kicking back for a cold drink.

When he's not writing or working, Matt likes to try to save time for hiking, reading, playing guitar and spending time with his wonderful wife.

Matt is always available to speak about his work. You can find him on Twitter (@mattwilliams79) on Facebook ( and on his website at Drop by anytime.

Where to find Matt D. Williams online


Jak Phoenix 2: The Markazian Deception
Series: The Jak Phoenix Adventures, Book 2. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 71,110. Language: English. Published: April 17, 2012. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » Space opera, Fiction » Science fiction » Adventure
(4.00 from 2 reviews)
Things aren’t always as they seem when Jak finds himself forced to take sides in a dispute he doesn’t fully understand. He quickly finds his choices could jeopardize not only himself, but his friends and countless others. Friendships will be tested and loyalties will be questioned in the second action packed Jak Phoenix adventure!
Jak Phoenix: Paid in Full (A Short Story)
Series: The Jak Phoenix Adventures. Price: Free! Words: 6,780. Language: English. Published: January 30, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » Adventure, Fiction » Science fiction » Space opera
(5.00 from 1 review)
An all new Jak Phoenix space adventure, set before the events of the first novel! Jak and Baxter are asked to pull off a seemingly simple grab – for a big payout. Unfortunately, shady dealings frequently end in space shenanigans.
Jak Phoenix
Series: The Jak Phoenix Adventures, Book 1. Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 78,830. Language: English. Published: January 31, 2010. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » General, Fiction » Science fiction » Space opera
(3.67 from 3 reviews)
Jak is a pilot who would rather kick back with a cold drink than stick his neck out to save the galaxy. But, as we all know, life often gets in the way of these ‘big dreams.’ In the spirit of space operas of old, comes a light hearted, action packed novel following the exploits of the best low quality pirate in the galaxy - Jak Phoenix.

Smashwords book reviews by Matt D. Williams

  • Future Useless on Feb. 01, 2011

    A very interesting and though provoking story. As soon as the journal entries hit, I was hooked. Written in way that invites new readers of sci-fi, I have to recommend it!
  • Redtooth on Feb. 05, 2011

    Quite funny, yet written in a way that keeps the pace rolling fast. I like it!
  • Say Goodbye on Feb. 13, 2011

    Great fast paced book. Seemingly realistic and accurate due to the author's real-life US Air Force experience. I'd also recommend this to any fans of classic Tom Clancy. Looking forward to The Long Road Home!