A'Mera Frieman


A'Mera Frieman currently lives in Garland, TX with her husband, Zach and six children: Angelise, Austin, Alacea, Hunter, Andrew, and Ariane. Frieman is also a race relations advocate working to bring awareness of racial tolerance and cultural respect to today's society. After dealing with her son's physical and psychological effects from bullying, Frieman created the Stopping the Madness Antibullying Foundation to advocate for parents, students, and communities affected by bullying. She also plays the clarinet in the First Baptist of Garland Sanctuary Orchestra. Frieman is originally from Cameron, TX which she fondly calls the "country".
Frieman has always been fascinated with writing. She was an alternate to her alma mater, C.H. Yoe High School's state journalism team as a senior, and she also took second place in a college writing contest at El Centro College. Even though Frieman graduated college in 2010 with a BAS degree from Dallas Baptist University in Criminal Justice and Business Administration, she could not get her characters out of her mind. Armed with a new laptop given to her by her husband for her birthday, Frieman began the journey of her first series, Victoria's Journey. She finished in June, and published the first book, Breaking the Line: Victoria's Beginning, July 18, 2013. Coincidentally, the book came out on her mother's birthday the next day. It was a special moment for Frieman as she had thought to work on the series with her mother before she passed away in 2005.
Frieman expanded her writing and business skills to create Breaking the Line Books small press to introduce an affordable and accessible publishing path for authors, poets, and illustrators. The BTLB promotes all projects and rarely issues a rejection.
The Victoria's Journey series that Frieman created is faith based, dynamic, and allows readers to connect to the characters in a personal way. Currently, she is working on the fourth and last book of the series, The Legacy. The exciting drama of will keep readers on the edge of their seats!
Frieman has been featured as a guest on shows such as the "Eddie and Tracy show"(Cincinnati), the "Brad Davis show"(Maine), the "Nick Taliaferro show"(Pittsburgh), and many other major network radio shows. Frieman and her husband, Zach were also featured in a Parade magazine article by renowned author, Francine Russo.

Smashwords Interview

What inspires you to get out of bed each day?
My family inspires me to drag myself from the comfort of my covers and go to work my day job. My husband works the night shift, so he is coming as I am going. He changed shifts so that he could help with the children while I'm at work and when I'm writing. We have six children together, and we work together to get everyone to their respective schools every morning and activities in the afternoons/weekends. My husband and children respect my dream of having a successful series of books, and they try very hard to be independent and "let Mom work". I love them for that and try not to let my muse interrupt family time. Their faith in me inspires me to be a better wife, mom, and writer.
Where did you grow up, and how did this influence your writing?
I grew up in Central Texas where there were plenty of pastures and cattle. It was a rugged life especially since we lived in the rural community away from town when I was young. Supplies had to be stretched, and chores had to be done. I loved it. We moved to the town as my brothers and sisters graduated and left home. My mother became handicapped when I was twelve, and I took care of her. We took care of each other really. The long talks that we had about her life and experiences and my own experiences helped to shape not only my writing but the woman that I became.
Read more of this interview.

Where to find A'Mera Frieman online

Where to buy in print


Victoria's Choice
Series: Victoria's Journey, Book 2. Price: Free! Words: 50,980. Language: English. Published: December 21, 2013. Category: Fiction » African American fiction » Historical
Victoria returns in Victoria's Choice, the sequel to the Amazon Bestselling, Victoria's Beginning. Trapped in the consequences of her choices, Victoria discovers that she made a horrible mistake. When a path to freedom presents itself, Victoria takes it believing that she can finally break the shackles of pain and despair. Will she make the right choice this time, or find more heartache?
Victoria's Beginning
Series: Victoria's Journey, Book 1. Price: Free! Words: 61,950. Language: English. Published: December 6, 2013. Category: Fiction » African American fiction » Historical
The Amazon Bestselling book, Victoria's Beginning sets the dramatic tone of the Victoria's Journey series. Born different, Victoria has to face many challenges and hardships starting with the rejection by her parents, and her faith becomes tested with each new obstacle. Can Victoria triumph over the old family voodoo curse with her faith and find her destiny? Don't miss the exciting drama!

A'Mera Frieman’s tag cloud