Catriona King




Catriona King was born and raised in Belfast, Northern Ireland. She trained as a Doctor, moving to London to live and work. She obtained her M.B.A. from Henley Management College in Oxfordshire, trained as a police Forensic Medical examiner and worked in central London in General Practice, Community Paediatrics and Health Management and strategy. She worked closely with the Metropolitan Police on many occasions. In recent years, she has returned to live in Belfast. She has written since childhood, fiction, fact and reporting.
‘A Limited Justice’ is the first novel in the modern D.C.I. Craig Modern Thriller series. It follows Detective Chief Inspector Marc Craig and his team, through the streets of Northern Ireland, in the hunt for the killer of three people.
‘The Grass Tattoo’ the second in the series was released in December 2012. It follows a trail of lust, greed and foreign gang influences as they lead to murders in Belfast and further afield.
The third D.C.I. Craig novel ‘The Visitor’ was released in March 2013 and is a tale of menace in a safe world. ‘The Waiting Room’, the book four in the D.C.I. Craig series was released in June 2013
Catriona is currently completing a stand-alone novel set in New York City, provisionally entitled ‘The Carbon Trail’ and book number five in the D.C.I. Craig series, tentatively named ‘The Broken Shore’, will hopefully be released at the end of 2013.

Catriona has recently established a theatre group in Belfast and is very active in Belfast's dynamic arts scene. She is on both Facebook and Twitter.

Smashwords Interview

What do your fans mean to you?
Everything. It's through fans that I find out whether the books are good or not. I have my own view as has my editor but we're only two people! Fans provide many different opinions and perspectives and that's invaluable. In addition they notice the tiny details and feed back as to whether or not they think I've got it right and whether plots work. I love hearing from them and always answer contacts.
What are you working on next?
I've just completed the fifth in the DCI Craig series, a book called 'The Broken Shore' which I'm hoping to have released by the end of this year. I'm also in the final edits of a new novel that's a complete departure from the DCI Craig series. It's a spy thriller with completely new characters set in New York City and State. It's called 'The Carbon Trail.' Hopefully it will come out in early 2014.
Read more of this interview.

Where to find Catriona King online

Twitter: @Catrionaking1
Facebook: Facebook profile

Where to buy in print


The History Suite
Series: The Craig Crime Series, Book 9. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 96,860. Language: British English. Published: April 12, 2015 by Crooked Cat Publishing. Categories: Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Crime thriller, Fiction » Mystery & detective » Police Procedural
Belfast’s Aging. When a health worker is found murdered, everything points to a random attack. But when Marc Craig’s team investigates, motives of greed and payback are revealed. As the legacy of a faraway conflict plays out, a member of Craig's team finds the case echoing uncomfortably with his life, and another suffers a brutal wake up call. The History Suite. Never underestimate experience.
The Careless Word
Series: The Craig Crime Series, Book 8. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 97,150. Language: British English. Published: November 21, 2014 by Crooked Cat Publishing. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Police Procedural, Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Crime thriller
When something from Belfast’s troubled past happens again in 2014, everyone fears the worst and Marc Craig’s team is called. They find a place of contemplation and a distant country linked in an unexpected way. One which no-one could have foretold. The team gains a new member, and in the background preparations continue for a momentous event, but everything depends on the case being solved.
The Coercion Key
Series: The Craig Crime Series, Book 7. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 94,250. Language: English. Published: August 4, 2014 by Crooked Cat Publishing. Categories: Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Crime thriller, Fiction » Mystery & detective » Traditional British
Belfast's Suicide When a series of suicides occurs within a short period of time, and every one is committed by a person with everything to live for, Marc Craig's suspicions begin to rise. On investigating, Craig's team enters a world that links cyber reality with real lives, where respectable façades unravel to reveal hidden identities. The Coercion Key. Book Seven in the Craig Crime Series
The Slowest Cut
Series: The Craig Crime Series, Book 6. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 98,580. Language: English. Published: June 5, 2014 by Crooked Cat Publishing. Categories: Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Crime thriller
Belfast's Torment. When a woman's body is found in the grounds of a school, it leads Marc Craig and his team into a darker world than they've ever been in before. How is her death linked to a young couple? What's the significance of a red kite? And how does a young French girl fit into the picture? The only bright spot on the team's horizon is that one of them is celebrating good news.

Catriona King's tag cloud

belfast    catriona king    crime    detective    irish    modern    murder    mystery    thriller