Intisar Khanani

Biography

Intisar Khanani grew up a nomad and world traveler. Born in Wisconsin, she has lived in five different states as well as in Jeddah on the coast of the Red Sea. She first remembers seeing snow on a wintry street in Zurich, Switzerland, and vaguely recollects having breakfast with the orangutans at the Singapore Zoo when she was five. She currently resides in Cincinnati, Ohio, with her husband and two young daughters.

Until recently, Intisar wrote grants and developed projects to address community health with the Cincinnati Health Department, which was as close as she could get to saving the world. Now she focuses her time on her two passions: raising her family and writing fantasy. Intisar's next two projects include a companion trilogy to Thorn, following the heroine introduced in her short story The Bone Knife, and a novella series set in a fiction world of eleven kingdoms all controlled by a corrupt Council of Mages. Thorn is her first novel.

Where to find Intisar Khanani online

Series

The Sunbolt Chronicles
Fans of Robin McKinley and Tamora Pierce will love this action-packed story of one girl fighting monsters both human and not. Pick up Sunbolt now and set off on a high-stakes adventure through the gorgeously diverse world of Intisar Khanani’s Sunbolt Chronicles.
Shadow Thief
Price: $2.99 USD.
Sunbolt
Price: $3.99 USD.
Memories of Ash
Price: $4.99 USD.
Debts of Fire
Price: $5.99 USD.
Dauntless Path
The Dauntless Path novels feature stories set in the land of Menaiya, and include "Thorn" and "The Theft of Sunlight."
Brambles
Price: Free!

Books

Memories of Ash
Series: The Sunbolt Chronicles, Book 2. Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 122,850. Language: English. Published: March 26, 2024 . Categories: Fiction » Young adult or teen » Fantasy
An unjust imprisonment. A rogue apprentice. One epic jailbreak... When Hitomi’s mentor is wrongfully accused of treason by the High Council of Mages, Hitomi does what any capable apprentice would do: she goes rogue, traversing spell-cursed lands and barren deserts, and navigating bitter enmities, in order to reunite with old friends and plan a rescue equal parts magic and trickery.
Debts of Fire
Series: The Sunbolt Chronicles, Book 3. Pre-release—available September 10, 2024. Price: $5.99 USD. Language: English. Categories: Fiction » Young adult or teen » Fantasy
As rogue hunters close in, Hitomi heads into the Burnt Lands to pay her debts to the phoenix.
Sunbolt
Series: The Sunbolt Chronicles, Book 1. Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 48,090. Language: American English. Published: September 19, 2023 . Categories: Fiction » Young adult or teen » Fantasy, Fiction » Coming of age
A land buckling beneath the power of a dark mage. The thief determined to foil his plans. A betrayal that could change everything. Fans of Robin McKinley and Tamora Pierce will love this action-packed story of one girl fighting monsters both human and not. Pick up Sunbolt now and set off on a high-stakes adventure through the gorgeously diverse world of Intisar Khanani’s Sunbolt Chronicles
Shadow Thief
Series: The Sunbolt Chronicles, Book 0.5. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 26,150. Language: American English. Published: August 29, 2023 . Categories: Fiction » Young adult or teen » Fantasy
If a door won't open, pick the lock. A 25k word novella featuring everyone's favorite scrappy street thief as she saves the Shadow League... whether they like it or not. This novella can be read before or after Sunbolt, as your heart desires.
Brambles
Series: Dauntless Path, Book 0.5. Price: Free! Words: 10,920. Language: American English. Published: December 7, 2020 . Categories: Fiction » Young adult or teen » Fantasy, Fiction » Coming of age
In the kingdom of Adania, everyone knows what Princess Alyrra did to earn the court's contempt, her mother's disdain, and her brother's hatred. She betrayed her own. Yet, the truth hides another story, one of honor and honesty, of a princess gambling her own life for another's. It's a tale of courage and consequences, and a choice that can never be undone.

Smashwords book reviews by Intisar Khanani

  • Sora's Quest (The Cat's Eye Chronicles #1) on April 18, 2013

    **This is a review of the newly revised edition, released March 2013 About to be put on display to attract a suitor (i.e. the highest bidder), Sora decides to run away directly after her dance performance. Unfortunately for her, she's not the only one planning something: an assassin crashes the performance and kills her father. Fleeing in the ensuing chaos, Sora manages to escape the chaos, only to run into (quite literally) the assassin. Since he can't afford for her to blow his cover, he takes her with him. And things go from bad to worse. Including finding out she's psychically bound to the necklace her mother left her, a Cat's Eye with the power to eat magic...something the assassin could definitely use. Sora's quest is a fast-paced adventure story about a naive but strong-willed heroine who intends to set out into the world, only to have the world set upon her. This was a quick and engaging read to the point that it was almost over too fast! Sora develops well as a character, and Shreffler has spent a good amount of time building the world and its mythos. The supporting characters were well rounded and realistic, and there were a number of unexpected twists. I have confidence that, as Shreffler develops as a writer, her work will only get more interesting. This is definitely a writer I'll be watching.