Janet Sketchley


Janet Sketchley's debut novel, Heaven's Prey, is a story of suspense and redemption. You'll find her Christian living articles and book reviews at janetsketchley.ca, plus a true-life story in the award-winning anthology, A Second Cup of Hot Apple Cider.

Janet is a Canadian author who loves stories with strong characters, adventure and hope. She’s also a wife, mom, daughter, friend, neighbor… balancing relationships and responsibilities, and learning how faith applies to real life. Add that to her quirky imagination and love of fiction, and you get novels about everyday women in suspenseful situations discovering more strength than they would have imagined.

Where to find Janet Sketchley online

Where to buy in print


This member has not published any books.

Smashwords book reviews by Janet Sketchley

  • Abundant Rain on Aug. 29, 2011

    Writers, like any other group of people following a particular passion, are a misunderstood lot. It takes one of our own to know which words will encourage us. Abundant Rain is a book designed to bless writers. It’s one to read and then read again, in small sections, as needed. The subtitle of this ebook is “Inspiring words for writers of faith.” It’s an 110-page collection of short pieces designed to encourage and sustain writers (and perhaps to help their loved ones understand them). Topics cover perseverance, pride, writing about life’s ugly bits and hard questions, self-promotion versus bragging, art and perfectionism, praising God, and what happens when we compare ourselves with other writers. Check out the free ebook, “A Small Patch of Blue,” on Marcia Lee Laycock’s Smashwords profile page if you’d like to preview an excerpt from Abundant Rain. Marcia Lee Laycock is an award-winning Canadian author of non-fiction and fiction. Her work has been published in numerous anthologies (most recently in A Second Cup of Hot Apple Cider) and she has written two devotional compilations, Spur of the Moment and Focused Reflections, as well as the novel One Smooth Stone.
  • Vanished on Sep. 26, 2011

    Vanished is book one in the Wilton-Strait Murder Mystery series from Canadian author Barbara Ann Derksen. The novel opens with the abduction of Trent and Diane Michner and their young son, Jeffrey. Andrea Wilton and Brian Strait, each a good friend of the Michners but not well-acquainted with one another despite attending the same church, discover the empty house and the signs of struggle, and become the newest targets of their friends’ enemies. A dying man warns them not to trust the police, and launches them on an investigation that leads from the US to Haiti. This is pre-2010-earthquake Haiti, and the author’s knowledge of the island and of diving add a feel of authenticity. The story is intriguing, and will especially appeal to readers who prefer a gentler mystery. The search for the missing family is the main plot, with subplots following Andrea and Brian’s developing relationship and their friendship with a young Haitian orphan girl. Readers interested in orphanages that care for Haitian children will also find the book interesting. Canadian author Barbara Ann Derksen is a multi-published author of fiction and non-fiction, including a series of devotional books for bikers. Book two in the Wilton-Strait series, Presumed Dead, delves into the biker world. You can learn more about the author, including her books and speaking ministry, at her website. [Electronic review copy provided by the author in exchange for a fair review.]
  • SciendaQ Spring 2012 on Jan. 17, 2012

    Well-written, with something to appeal to everyone. I'm still intrigued by the mix of "literary" and "swashbuckling" in the anthology's description. My favourite selections are P.A. Barnes' Are You a Superhero? and Marc Schooley's On Atheism. Thanks, SciendaQ, and I'll watch for the next installment.