John Prentice

Biography

My Story

At 8 years old I wasn’t much of a reader, in fact for me my bike was my world. If it didn’t have wheels and a chain I wasn’t much interested. This was back in the early 1970’s when television had yet to take a hold on the UK. Then one Saturday I visited a friends house and they were just settling down to listen to the radio, it was not something that I was accustomed to, but they invited me to sit and listen with them. At 8pm War of The Worlds serialised by the BBC burst into my life.

You may have heard the story that when it was first broadcast on Halloween night in 1938 the response was immediate and passed into legend. As more than 6 million tuned in to the tale of the invasion from mars an estimated 1.2 million people believed that the radio play was real and panicked, jamming the roads in an attempt to escape.*

From that night on, I was hooked, hooked on story, almost addicted to story and quickly became a voracious reader, consuming everything that I could get my hands on – including, after discovering where my father kept the keys to his bookcases, a few things perhaps I shouldn’t have.

Now, as a professional writer, each day I enjoy the thrill of bringing words and worlds to life for others.

And please, if you have feedback, I’d love to hear from you!
www.sleepingkings.com



*Study by Princeton professor, Hadley Cantril

Where to find John Prentice online


Books

Sleeping Kings (Dark Force – Book One)
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 78,500. Language: English. Published: April 12, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Young adult or teen » Adventure
(4.00)
For fans of Anthony Horowitz, Charlie Higson & Chris Ryan comes an action adventure that’ll keep YA fans on the edge of their seats! Nik was a normal, geeky teen until her parents split and her father dragged her to France. There she meets a dead guy who’s protecting a secret, & suddenly people want her dead too. She’s got to beat the clock & time has just run out for Nicola Roscoe!

John Prentice's tag cloud

action    adventure    romance   

Smashwords book reviews by John Prentice

  • SHIFT (Shift Series #1) on May 15, 2011

    Welcome to a world where people might not be all they seem. Welcome to a world where storm clouds are gathering on the horizon. Welcome to the world of seventeen-year-old Leah, who's just discovered that she's not like the others. Not like them at all. Leah has a secret, a secret that if it got out would have her hunted down and then who knows… A secret that others have carried through time and now it's hers; she's a shifter. Elle Beauregard has created a wonderful, timeless coming-of-age adventure in which a young girl reaches seventeen and discovers a secret that will change her life forever. She can't be who she was, that life is gone forever. However her new life offers possibilities as well as pains that the old one never could; a connection with a boy as perfect as Drake King for starters. Well crafted and edited, this book sets the bar for indie publishing to aspire to. If the vampire genre is now getting a bit stale - this story will grab you and keep you hooked until the last page!