J.P. Barnett

Biography

J.P. Barnett grew up in a tiny Texas town where the list of possible vocations failed to include published author. In second grade, he worked harder than any other student to deliver a story about a tiger cub who singlehandedly saved the U.S. Military, earning him a shiny gold star and a lifelong appreciation of telling a good story.

Fast forwarding through decades of schooling and a career as a software engineer, J.P. Barnett stepped away from it all to get back to his first real passion. Years of sitting at a keyboard gifted him with some benefit, though, including blazing fast typing hands and a full tank of creativity.

As a child, J.P. consumed any book he could get his hands on. The likes of Stephen King, Michael Crichton, and Dean Koontz paved the bookshelves of his childhood, providing a plethora of fantastical and terrifying tales that he read way too early in life. Though the effect these books had on his psyche could be called into question, these masters of storytelling managed to warp his mind in just the perfect way to spin a fun yarn or two.

J.P. currently resides in San Antonio with his wife and hellion of a cat, both of whom look at him dubiously with some frequency.

Where to find J.P. Barnett online

Where to buy in print

Series

La Saga de Lorestalker
Una galardonada serie de criaturas presenta historias de terror en la tradición de Dean Koontz, Stephen King y John Saul.
La Bestia de Rose Valley
Price: $3.99 USD.
Lorestalker
A multiple-award-winning series of creature feature horror stories in the tradition of Dean Koontz, Stephen King, and John Saul.

Books

La Bestia de Rose Valley
Series: La Saga de Lorestalker, Libro 1. Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 74,340. Language: Spanish. Published: July 21, 2020 by Evolved Publishing LLC. Categories: Fiction » Horror » General, Fiction » Adventure » Action
Algo malo acecha a los ciudadanos de Rose Valley, no por primera vez, pero con suerte será la última. ~~~ A medida que las mutilaciones de ganado se convierten en ataques mortales contra humanos, y el Sheriff organiza una cacería humana insensata, Jake y Shandi deben correr para salvar a la ciudad de un mal aparentemente imparable. [Ganador de Múltiples Premios]
The Witch of Gray’s Point
Series: Lorestalker, Book 3. Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 84,700. Language: American English. Published: December 2, 2019 by Evolved Publishing LLC. Categories: Fiction » Horror » General, Fiction » Fantasy » Paranormal
To Miriam, a solo study trip to an abandoned desert ranch house sounds like the perfect respite from the world, a way to unwind and center herself after a string of unbelievable encounters with terrifying monsters. Yet the desert isn't devoid of life. Somthing hides in the shadows, waits in the desert, ready to pounce on any who enter its domain.
The Kraken of Cape Madre
Series: Lorestalker, Book 2. Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 81,960. Language: American English. Published: June 3, 2019 by Evolved Publishing LLC. Categories: Fiction » Horror » General, Fiction » Fantasy » Paranormal
It’s been almost two years, but the nightmares still haunt Miriam Brooks—grisly images of her brother being slaughtered. A relaxing Spring Break at the beach seems like a good way to put some distance between her and the troubling past, but paradise shatters when she saves a tourist from something lurking beneath the waves. Miriam is the last line of defense between man and myth.
The Beast of Rose Valley
Series: Lorestalker, Book 1. Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 76,450. Language: American English. Published: March 4, 2019 by Evolved Publishing LLC. Categories: Fiction » Horror » General, Fiction » Fantasy » Paranormal
Something evil stalks the citizens of Rose Valley—not for the first time, but hopefully for the last. ~ As livestock mutilations escalate into deadly attacks on humans, and the Sheriff organizes a foolhardy manhunt, Jake Rollins and Shandi Mason must race to save the town from a seemingly unstoppable evil.

J.P. Barnett's tag cloud