J.P. Barnett

Biography

J.P. Barnett grew up in a tiny Texas town where the list of possible vocations failed to include published author. In second grade, he worked harder than any other student to deliver a story about a tiger cub who singlehandedly saved the U.S. Military, earning him a shiny gold star and a lifelong appreciation of telling a good story.

Fast forwarding through decades of schooling and a career as a software engineer, J.P. Barnett stepped away from it all to get back to his first real passion. Years of sitting at a keyboard gifted him with some benefit, though, including blazing fast typing hands and a full tank of creativity.

As a child, J.P. consumed any book he could get his hands on. The likes of Stephen King, Michael Crichton, and Dean Koontz paved the bookshelves of his childhood, providing a plethora of fantastical and terrifying tales that he read way too early in life. Though the effect these books had on his psyche could be called into question, these masters of storytelling managed to warp his mind in just the perfect way to spin a fun yarn or two.

J.P. currently resides in San Antonio with his wife and hellion of a cat, both of whom look at him dubiously with some frequency.

Where to find J.P. Barnett online


Where to buy in print


Series

Lorestalker
A series of creature feature horror stories in the tradition of Dean Koontz, Stephen King, and John Saul.
The Beast of Rose Valley
Price: $3.99 $2.00 USD. (50% off!)
The Kraken of Cape Madre
Price: $3.99 $2.00 USD. (50% off!)

Books

The Kraken of Cape Madre
Series: Lorestalker, Book 2. Price: $3.99 $2.00 USD. (50% off!) Words: 82,010. Language: American English. Published: June 3, 2019 by Evolved Publishing LLC. Categories: Fiction » Horror » General, Fiction » Adventure » General
It’s been almost two years, but the nightmares still haunt Miriam Brooks—grisly images of her brother being slaughtered. A relaxing Spring Break at the beach seems like a good way to put some distance between her and the troubling past, but paradise shatters when she saves a tourist from something lurking beneath the waves. Miriam is the last line of defense between man and myth.
The Beast of Rose Valley
Series: Lorestalker, Book 1. Price: $3.99 $2.00 USD. (50% off!) Words: 75,790. Language: American English. Published: March 4, 2019 by Evolved Publishing LLC. Categories: Fiction » Horror » General, Fiction » Adventure » General
Something evil stalks the citizens of Rose Valley—not for the first time, but hopefully for the last. ~ As livestock mutilations escalate into deadly attacks on humans, and the Sheriff organizes a foolhardy manhunt, Jake Rollins and Shandi Mason must race to save the town from a seemingly unstoppable evil.

J.P. Barnett's tag cloud