J.T. Savoy

Biography

I go by J. T. Savoy. The name itself, like my creativity, is derived from two central influences in my life. I am a dweller in two worlds, at home in none. It has made for interesting perspectives throughout the course of my lifetime. In essence, I am a Brooklyn bred scribe with roots in the rural South. I am the author of Snippets of Midnight and The Bloat King, tales of assorted madness.

I grew up in the 70s and 80s in Brooklyn, NY. My geeky inclinations sprouted at a particularly young age which left me adrift with all the other nerds and outcasts. Huddled like field mice over superhero comics and fantasy TV shows, or delving deep into mythology and the lore of swords and sorcery. Dabbling here and there with one story after another until my synapses sparkled with creativity.

I still recall reading Lovecraft, H.G. Wells, and P.K Dick styles of fiction well into the early morning hours, armed only with a flashlight and covers for a tent. My love leans toward almost any classic horror tale, pulpy scifi flicks and thrilling action films.

Cultivating the best of my influences- the frenetic pace of action flicks, the visceral visuals of the pulp slasher genre, and the underlying panic of the classics- I enjoy crafting unique tales of the human spirit and condition set against the backdrop of terror or mayhem. The world itself is filled with its own brand of madcap characters and wild engagements. I invite quick, literary excursions into a universe full of macabre characters and decidedly wicked supernatural beings.

I am upfront, open, and love to meet and speak with people from all walks of life. My sense of both story and life grows with each person I meet and each interaction I have. I welcome input, advice, and many thoughts from other creatives, and hope to exchange my own observations with those I meet as well.

All best,

JT

Smashwords Interview

What are your five favorite books, and why?
In no particular order
The Bible- simply the best
Eye of the Needle- Ken Follett. One of my all time favorites of his. I loved the period, the adventure, the female character and how the suspense wove all three together remarkably well.
Catcher in the Rye- J. D. Saligner. As a New Yorker and H.S. book nerd this was required reading that turned into a minor addiction. There was just something captivating about this loose, rambling journey that seemed to serve no purpose except explore a place I lived in but was (generational gap) wholly unfamiliar with.
War of the Worlds- H. G. Wells- I had seen the film before getting to the book, but have been completely enthralled with this particular first person narrative. Nothing I have seen on film can really do it justice. IMO this was and still is the best apocalyptic tale written, hands down
Frankenstein- Mary Shelly- having devoured mostly H.P. Lovecraft tales way into the deep of night as a kid, I read about authors who had influenced his writing. This lead me to pick up my first copy of Frankenstein. I had admittedly discounted this and Dracula as "works of art" because I ad seen so many bad movies with them as leads I never imagined the stories being worthwhile reads (more archaic, long winded tales). Glad I was proved wrong as this is the best example of horror writing's potential available.
What do you read for pleasure?
My tastes vary. I enjoy horror in the vein of Lovecraft, Ashton Smith, Matheson, Doyle. I love Batman comic books and Star Trek (TOS) novels. I am a huge fan of early Steven King, H.G. Wells, P.K. Dick, and Ray Bradbury.
When I am brain locked for a story I have this gem of a book I found at a second hand shop ages ago that has fifty ghost stories by obscure and classic horror writers. I also get into phases where I need a good Tom Clancy novel or Mack Bolan series.
Read more of this interview.

Where to find J.T. Savoy online

Twitter: @alwaysvideo
Facebook: Facebook profile

Books

Snippets of Midnight
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 180,670. Language: American English. Published: February 14, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Supernatural, Fiction » Fantasy » Dark
Unlock the secrets that begin in Snippets of Midnight. Escape into dark, twisting realms embedded within these ten tales. This interconnected tapestry is woven with the sinew of dread and terror. Along this eerie path life teeters on the serrated edge between hope and damnation. A saga of malevolent fantasy awaits.
The Bloat King Tales of Assorted Madness
Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 147,590. Language: English. Published: March 3, 2014. Categories: Fiction » Horror » Weird fiction, Fiction » Horror » General
10 chilling tales of macabre madness launched from the dark recesses of the mind of J.T. Savoy. The Bloat King Tales of Assorted Madness is a fast-paced rush of blood curdling terror the likes no mortal should ever hope to face.

J.T. Savoy's tag cloud