Kyle Shoop


Kyle Shoop is the author of the Acea Bishop trilogy. After spending several years volunteering in his wife's elementary classrooms, he was inspired to write the series. The first book is Acea and the Animal Kingdom. The second book is Acea and the Seven Ancient Wonders. Book three has just been released and is Acea and the Adventure Thru Time. Kyle currently lives in Utah with his wife and children. In addition to writing novels, Kyle is also a practicing attorney.

Smashwords Interview

What is your writing process?
My writing process requires that I first spend a lot of time researching the underlying subject of the novels. For book one, I spent a long time researching about many different animals and how their interesting facts could be woven into the story. (I will never again research tarantulas - I spent way to long staring at their pictures and videos for the book.) Same thing with the Seven Ancient Wonders for book two. I've typically spent a year doing the research and outlining the plot before I actually begin writing. Then, once I begin writing, it's another year or so to completion of the first draft.
What do you read for pleasure?
This may be a surprise, but I actually don't do much, if any, reading in the genre in which I write - middle grade fantasy/adventure. I like to keep my books as free from influence from other books in my genre as possible. Much of what I read for pleasure are actually non-fiction books or articles. I think this comes from my background from when I received my undergrad degree in philosophy. I'm always looking for a good story with a well-developed character, big reveal, or interesting plot hook - so I'm not against reading any genre if it has any of those things.
Read more of this interview.

Where to find Kyle Shoop online

Where to buy in print


The Acea Bishop Trilogy by Kyle Shoop
Interview with author Kyle Shoop about the Acea Bishop Trilogy.


Acea Bishop Trilogy
Follow twelve-year-old Acea Bishop on his adventures to free his family and battle the evil sorcerer Vesuvius! Acea's adventures take him through exotic zoo habitats of the mysterious Animal Kingdom, to the Seven Ancient Wonders, and on adventures thru time. The trilogy is now complete - book three is now available!


Acea and the Adventure Thru Time
Series: Acea Bishop Trilogy. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 75,520. Language: English. Published: August 21, 2016. Categories: Fiction » Young adult or teen » Fantasy, Fiction » Fantasy » Historical
Time is a War. Time is an Answer. Time is an Adventure. Travel thru time with Acea as he visits ancient civilizations and influences important inventions. Acea's time-traveling may be to change the past, but what he doesn't expect is how time may change his future. The thrilling conclusion to the Acea Bishop Trilogy.
Acea and the Seven Ancient Wonders
Series: Acea Bishop Trilogy. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 66,770. Language: English. Published: April 27, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Fantasy » General, Fiction » Children’s books » Fiction
Seven Ancient Wonders, One Path Home. Join Acea on his adventure as he travels through and unearths the secrets of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World, while trying to unite the kingdoms in the Wizard world and free his parents from the evil sorcerer Vesuvius. There may be Seven Ancient Wonders, but for Acea – there’s only one path home. The sequel to Acea and the Animal Kingdom
Acea and the Animal Kingdom
Series: Acea Bishop Trilogy. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 66,440. Language: English. Published: April 27, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Fantasy » General, Fiction » Children’s books » Animals
Welcome to the Animal Kingdom - Where mystery and adventure roam free! Follow twelve-year-old Acea Bishop as he travels through the exotic zoo habitats and unlocks secrets located deep inside of the mysterious Animal Kingdom. Secrets which reveal the kingdom's mysterious past and hold the key to Acea's fate. Acea has secrets. Big ones. He just doesn't know it yet.

Kyle Shoop's tag cloud