Marlayna Glynn Brown

Biography

Marlayna Glynn Brown is a best-selling American author, award-winning photographer, screenwriter and yogi. Immediately upon publication in 2012 Marlayna's first memoir, Overlay: A Tale of One Girl's Life in 1970s Las Vegas, became and remains one of the highest rated author memoirs. Overlay won a finalist award in the 2013 Next Generation Indie Book Awards.

Marlayna's diverse photographs include subjects in more than 25 different countries. Her photographs have won awards including Best in Show at Austin's Flatbed Press Gallery Fall Gathering of Photographers, First Place in the Austin Convention Center's Austinography Photo Contest, Photo of the Day for Los Angeles Convention Center's Discover Los Angeles, Honorable Mention in the Kutoa Travel Photo contest, and runner up in both the Emergent Artist Award Contest and KL Photoawards.
Her photographic work has been exhibited at venues including Austin's Second Stage Gallery at the Blue Theatre representing responses to wildfires, the International Cultural Diplomacy's Photo Exhibit, Java Dive in Austin, Texas and The Flatbed Press Gallery in Austin, Texas.

Marlayna's life credits, BA in Literature and MS in Human Services have enhanced her remarkable gift in observing and recording humanity. Her memoirist writing credits include Overlay: A Tale of One Girl's Life in 1970s Las Vegas, City of Angeles, Big as All Hell and Half of Texas, The Trilogy: Memoirs of Marlayna Glynn Brown, One Day The Invitations Will Stop Arriving, Lovers, Liars and Lotharios, and Rest In Places: My Father's Post-Life Journey Around The World.

Marlayna's instructional works include The Nomadic Memoir Series: Memoir Writing Tips for Authors, and Best Selling Award Winning Promotion and Marketing Tips for Authors.

Her short film, People That do Something, is based on a chapter from Overlay and can be viewed on Marlayna's Youtube channel.

Where to find Marlayna Glynn Brown online


Where to buy in print


Books

The Scattering of All: Tales From Extraordinary Survivors of Suicide Loss
By
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 50,080. Language: English. Published: June 8, 2014. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
This collection of true stories will invite you to lean into the process of understanding the larger implications of how suicide affects others. This book poses several questions. What happens to the people left behind when someone commits suicide? How do the survivors navigate the grieving process? Which methods do they use? Do they ever recover from such a profound trauma?
The Trilogy: Memoirs of Marlayna Glynn Brown
By
Price: $6.99 USD. Words: 290,960. Language: English. Published: April 2, 2014. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Editors, journalists, & publishers
Three full-length novels in one compilation! Fans of The Glass Castle, The Liar's Club and Angela's Ashes will appreciate this award-winning collection of best-selling memoirist Marlayna Glynn Brown's three tales of survival and resilience. This collection includes three of Glynn Brown's acclaimed memoirs describing her turbulent 1970s Las Vegas childhood, teenage and young adult years in Los An

Marlayna Glynn Brown’s tag cloud

bereavement    childhood    death    divorce    family    grief    healing    loss    memoir    relationships    suicide