Mike Gagnon

Biography

Mike Gagnon is an author living in the Niagara Region of Canada.
He has been a professional writer and comic creator since 2000. He has written, illustrated and edited hundreds of books, articles and graphic novels.
Mike has worked for publishers of all sizes, from Marvel Comics to many small press publishers.
He also enjoys teaching the crafts of writing and illustration to students of all ages with his workshops and seminars, as well as teaching at a prominent animation school in Toronto, Canada.
For more info visit: www.mikegagnon.ca

Smashwords Interview

Where did you grow up, and how did this influence your writing?
I grew up all over Southern Ontario, Canada. I was born in Windsor, Ontario and we moved about 10 times for my dad's work by the time I was ready to start the first grade. I think that helped me for the ability to find home wherever I hang my hat. By first grade we lived in the Meaford, Ontario area and although we moved a few more times after that, they were all in that same region so I never had to switch schools or groups of friends. Though I live in sunny Niagara now, the rest of my immediate family lives in that area, though I still have many extended family members in the Windsor area, and I cherish the rare opportunities that my schedule allows me to visit. Growing up in a smaller town and community gave me an appreciation for relating to individual people on a personal level. At a young age it also gave me a desire and appreciation for large urban centers, which is probably why I ended up in Toronto as soon as I was able. That same experience with small towns that made me desire the city is now giving me an appreciation of small towns and communities as I get older, so I enjoy dividing my time between both. Small towns have a friendly quaintness that you can't find in larger places with the hustle and bustle. The place I live now is a perfect balance, a mid size community directly between a small community and a big city, each just minutes away.
When did you first start writing?
Ha! As long as I can remember. Really! I discovered comic books at the age of about 4 and that's when it really ignited a passion for telling stories and drawing. But I'm sure I was reading even before that. I've been a self-learner since I was born. I used to take books and sound the words out myself and find them in other stories to figure out what they meant or look them up in the dictionary. I was reading at college level by 5th grade. I loved Classics Illustrated comics as a kid, I was lucky enough to go to a public school that had a set in the library. Those comics were a big reason that I began reading the classics while my classmates were discovering Super Nintendo and Sega Genesis. (I also enjoyed those) I can't remember a time when I wasn't reading, and it was a natural combination for me to start telling my own stories inspired by the ones I had read.
Read more of this interview.

Where to find Mike Gagnon online


Where to buy in print


Books

Uninvited
Price: $4.99 $1.25 USD. (75% off!) Words: 35,780. Language: American English. Published: February 14, 2017. Categories: Fiction » Horror » Undead, Fiction » Erotica » Paranormal
It almost took Darius everything he had to finally be able to cut his sociopath wife from his life. Now, three years later, things couldn't be going any better for him. Yet, a simple Facebook friend request is enough to once again send him spiralling towards Allison. Has she really changed? Or is there an ulterior motive behind her reappearance, more sinister than he could ever imagine?
Sex and the Circus
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 8,410. Language: English. Published: September 14, 2016. Categories: Fiction » Romance » Adult, Fiction » Humor & comedy » General
The Kaleidoscope Circus is the only world that Patty Jones has ever known. Her destiny seems to change when Trent Leary, a smooth talking young lawyer, approaches Patty with an opportunity that could change life as she knows it forever. Could Patty ever leave her family at the circus behind and start a new life? Could her relationship with Trent be leading to something more than just business?
Skidsville Ultimate Edition
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 32,660. Language: English. Published: August 17, 2016. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Hard-Boiled, Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Crime thriller
The gritty crime noir novel combined with all the authors original notes, character bible and the original graphic novel script that inspired the novel! In one night, Bill DuPlacey and his young son Joey’s lives change forever. Bill’s wife, Joey’s mother, is found brutally murdered and all fingers point at Bill. 20 years later, Joey’s only ambition in life is to prove his father's innocence.
Mason: Sweet Sacrilege
Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 60. Language: American English. Published: May 12, 2016. Categories: Fiction » Graphic novels & comics » General, Fiction » Adventure » Action
The original graphic novel that introduced the world to Mike Gagnon’s tough-as-nails no holds barred psychopathic mercenary, Mason. When he vows to protect the daughter of the man who saved his life, Mason runs headlong into a bloodthirsty branch of the Russian mob. The kind of mobsters who have no problem using a church as their cover! ACTION. VIOLENCE. MAYHEM. Mason, in his purest form!
The Island of Dr. Morose Ultimate Edition
Price: $5.99 USD. Words: 29,530. Language: English. Published: May 6, 2016. Categories: Fiction » Horror » Undead, Fiction » Science fiction » Apocalyptic
The digital editions of The Island of Dr. Morose and The Island of Dr. Morose Script Book all combined into one digital book!
The Island of Dr. Morose Script Book
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 14,710. Language: English. Published: April 14, 2016. Categories: Screenplays » Horror, Screenplays » Sci-Fi
If you've read the sensation that is the Island of Dr. Morose; you know how deliciously gruesome, gory and gritty it is. What you may not know is that author Mike Gagnon originally conceived of the book as a graphic novel.Now here, the author presents the original texts. All the plot and chapter breakdowns, character bios, and the complete original graphic novels script, like exposed entrails.
The Island of Dr. Morose
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 15,060. Language: English. Published: April 7, 2016. Categories: Fiction » Horror » Undead, Fiction » Science fiction » Apocalyptic
While the world was recovering and rebuilding from the zombie apocalypse, one eccentric genius was turning a Haitian island into a paradise for the wealthy and affluent. Word eventually spread out to the civilized world that Schmidt had mastered the technology of cybernetic control of the undead, turning them into the servants and labourers that keep his island paradise running.
Paper Walls: Removing the Barriers Between You And Creating Great Comics
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 23,490. Language: English. Published: June 30, 2015. Categories: Nonfiction » Self-improvement » Motivation and inspiration, Nonfiction » Self-improvement » Creativity
A gripping, comprehensive guide, the first one in a new series intended to support creative artists in their first publishing venture, this book will help you save money, cope with the high stress levels involved in publishing your own work and successfully help your comics or graphic novels make it to the bookstore windows at low or even ZERO cost!
Skidsville
Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 19,100. Language: American English. Published: May 26, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Hard-Boiled, Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Crime thriller
In one night, the lives of Bill DuPlacey and his young son Joey change forever. Bill’s wife, Joey’s mother, is found brutally murdered and all fingers point at Bill. 20 years later, Joey’s only ambition in life is to make enough money to prove his father is innocent and get him released from jail. Could his new mob cohorts know the secret of what really happened to Joey's mother?

Mike Gagnon's tag cloud

action    adventure    book    circus    comic    comic book    comingofage    crime    drug abuse    erotica    fayolle    gagnon    graphic novel    hardboiled    horror    howto    humor    humor black    humour    mason    mental health    modern    noir    novella    publishing    publishing a book    romance    scifi    selfhelp    selfpublish    selfpublishiing    sex    sex addiction    short story    thriller    thriller adult    vampires    violence    zombie    zombies   

Mike Gagnon's favorite authors on Smashwords


Smashwords book reviews by Mike Gagnon

  • 5 Gears Diet: Learn how to drive your body on Dec. 08, 2013

    “In 5 Gears Diet, Diana Artene cuts through all of the misinformation and deceptive messaging out there to expose one stark truth; there is magic that makes weight loss easy. Diana examines how we eat, what we eat and why we eat, combined with the sedentary lifestyle common today. Her simple 5-step process shows how we can change our own thinking and behaviour, leading to a happier and healthier life.” Mike Gagnon; Author-MikeGagnon.ca
  • Bad Elixir on Dec. 14, 2013

    Compelling and exciting, Victor Pilgrim III’s Bad Elixir is an expert blend of the martial arts and western genres. Edge of your seat, page turning action that would do both John Wayne and Bruce Lee Proud.
  • Doubt - Among Us Trilogy Book 1 - a Truth Seekers end of the world religious thriller series on Feb. 21, 2014

    Doubt is a solid start to Anne-Rae Vasquez’s ‘Among Us’ trilogy. A band of misfits have bonded together over the online game, Truth Seekers, and been pulled together in real life to embark on a chilling journey that will challenge their perceptions of reality. Doubt has heavy blend of murder mystery, sci-fi and supernatural forces, in the tradition of Fringe and X-Files. This book is highly recommended for those who like their suspense to straddle the line between reality and the unknown.
  • Thump on March 10, 2014

    Thump takes everything you’d expect from a stereotypical sexual harassment story and turns it on its head. It follows the story of a young black man working for a prominent investment firm, and the sexual harassment directed at him from his powerful white boss. Examines the attitudes and perception of people in a very interesting way and how those are biased when perceived through the filters of race and gender. A brilliantly cerebral offering from Avraham Azrielli.
  • One Second To Midnight on May 23, 2014

    In One Second to Midnight, Tony Hart-Wilden introduces us to Vincent Anderson, a super agent with a rather unique set of skills. His niche is killing things that are already dead. After a monster slaughtered his entire family, Vincent has been on a mission of vengeance, bringing bloody retribution the things that go bump in the night. If you like dark stories that include personal anguish and monsters, you’ll love this book.