Roberta Hegland


This member has not published any books.

Smashwords book reviews by Roberta Hegland

  • The Art of My Life on Oct. 01, 2012
    (no rating)
    Honest, earthy, visceral - Ann uses all the senses to describe twenty something relationships. Glimpses of the need for protection, boundaries and forgiveness abound. Kicking Eternity leaves us with Cal and Aly's rift, Art of My Life explores the long road to healing. Frank feelings, tender and heartbreaking give life to the characters who are beautifully drawn (as are the descriptions of Cal's art - reminiscent of the novel, Girl With a Pearl Earring). blog entries at the beginning of each chapter are a delightful bonus. The blog is real and full of wonderful paintings. Ann Lee Miller lives up to her tagline in this novel; Flawed people. Flawless God.
  • Avra's God on Dec. 02, 2012
    (no rating)
    "It was just wrong to talk about God while you were looking at a girls legs." This line pretty much sums up Ann Miller's novels, and this one in particular. Neither sexual attraction nor God is off limits in her books. Avra's God is laced with both, giving heady results. Jesse and Cisco have been friends since they were toddlers, Avra and Kallie become friends as college study buddies. Their relationships become intertwined and deep, exploring love, fear and rejection - of one another, of their fathers. Grounded in an understanding of God from the book of Isaiah, this story is set apart from other `boy meets girl' tales. The Art of My Life gave us the rest of the story of Kicking Eternity. Avra's God is the prequel, shedding light on Aly's big sister, Kallie, and Cal's big bro, Jesse. Take my advice - read them all!
  • Tattered Innocence on March 26, 2013

    Seventeen years in the making, Ann Miller's Tattered Innocence nails the question, "What does forgiveness feel like?" In keeping with her tagline Flawed people, Flawless God, Ann drops us into the uber drama of Jake and Rachel, both raw with the hurt of breakups, setting sail on The Smyrna Queen. Captain Jake is clearly unhappy, but so is his new first mate, Rachel. Together, they learn that God meant it when He said, "When you pass through the waters, I will be with you." Physically, spiritually and emotionally, they are forced to face their deepest fears and flaws. Rachel is reminded of "how she used to listen for God, the sound of the ocean in a conch shell - constant, ethereal. But she'd dropped the shell, not wanting to hear what He had to say about Bret...Did she have the strength left to pick up the God-shell?" Ann's Tattered Innocence is full of anguish and beauty. If you loved her 20-something novels Kicking Eternity, The Art of My Life and Avra's God, you will fall in love again with the New Smyrna Beach extended family and friends.
  • Chasing Happy on Aug. 30, 2015

    “This was what he wanted. To know and be known… Someone to fall asleep beside….” Ash’s musings as Samma falls asleep beside him on the couch is the essence of what we all desire and encapsulates the tenderness of Ann Lee Miller’s new book, Chasing Happy. Ann takes an honest look at how a young man confronts both his father’s and maybe his own homosexuality. At the same time he falls in love again with the girl next door. And more, so much more. This book is a stellar read that gets it right on so many levels on a number of controversial issues. I highly recommend this ‘can’t put it down’ read. *Please be aware that in this book, Ann goes deep into seriously racy (though not gratuitous) scenes. Probably not for everyone, on the other hand, worth skipping a paragraph here and there for a dynamite story. If you haven’t read Ann’s previous books, Kicking Eternity, The Art of My Life, Avra’s God, and Tattered Innocence, check them out – you’ll be glad you did!