Samantha Martin

Books

This member has not published any books.

Smashwords book reviews by Samantha Martin

  • The Dream Merchant Saga: Book One, The Magic Crystal on Feb. 21, 2013

    “Look here you old, painted hussy! I am neither a tart, a trollop, nor am I a strumpet! I am a lady of refined breeding and culture, so bugger off, before this little poppet pops you one in that ugly, wrinkled mug!” ― L.T. Suzuki, The Magic Crystal Princess Rose is the very pretty of a spoiled, pampered, royal. She treats everyone as if they are beneath her, and she throws shoes at her maids with a deadly aim. She even made her childhood friend her own personal court jester and ruined his chances of ever becoming a knight! Tag wanted nothing more than to be a knight, but fate was cruel and instead made him the laughing stock of the entire palace! Instead of fighting in the wars, he was often found hiding in the broom closet with his trusted pet, Squeakers the mouse. Princess Rose had everything that anyone could every wish for, but she found it all lacking. Her parents did not let her eat sweets as her main course, she was forced to eat prunes, and her mother wanted her to be nice to peasants! As if! So Rose hatches a plan. She was going to capture the Tooth Fairy. Everyone knows if you capture the Tooth Fairy that she has to grant you three wishes….at least that what she thought. Instead of getting wishes, Rose got cursed. Now with the coerced help of Tag, and Cankles the local village idiot, Rose sets off in an adventure through many lands. Along the way she is forced into situations she never dreamed that she would be in. Throughout all of this Rose has been bestowed with a magic crystal called a “Dreamstone”. With the Dreamstone the Princess is allowed three wishes a day. Rose is elated, but can she learn to wish for someone other than herself?Princess Rose will soon learn many lessons and will have to decide if friendship is more valuable then all of the wishes in the world. L.T. Suzuki weaves a laugh out loud tale of three unlikely companions who have to deal with angry fairies, crazy mime loving sorcerers, monstrous cheese making trolls, inebriated elves, hairy little dwarves, and did I mention the army of Mimes! This story is a hilarious, romping adventure of Mel Brooks proportions!
  • The Dream Merchant Saga: Book One, The Magic Crystal on Feb. 21, 2013

    “Look here you old, painted hussy! I am neither a tart, a trollop, nor am I a strumpet! I am a lady of refined breeding and culture, so bugger off, before this little poppet pops you one in that ugly, wrinkled mug!” ― L.T. Suzuki, The Magic Crystal Princess Rose is the very pretty of a spoiled, pampered, royal. She treats everyone as if they are beneath her, and she throws shoes at her maids with a deadly aim. She even made her childhood friend her own personal court jester and ruined his chances of ever becoming a knight! Tag wanted nothing more than to be a knight, but fate was cruel and instead made him the laughing stock of the entire palace! Instead of fighting in the wars, he was often found hiding in the broom closet with his trusted pet, Squeakers the mouse. Princess Rose had everything that anyone could every wish for, but she found it all lacking. Her parents did not let her eat sweets as her main course, she was forced to eat prunes, and her mother wanted her to be nice to peasants! As if! So Rose hatches a plan. She was going to capture the Tooth Fairy. Everyone knows if you capture the Tooth Fairy that she has to grant you three wishes….at least that what she thought. Instead of getting wishes, Rose got cursed. Now with the coerced help of Tag, and Cankles the local village idiot, Rose sets off in an adventure through many lands. Along the way she is forced into situations she never dreamed that she would be in. Throughout all of this Rose has been bestowed with a magic crystal called a “Dreamstone”. With the Dreamstone the Princess is allowed three wishes a day. Rose is elated, but can she learn to wish for someone other than herself?Princess Rose will soon learn many lessons and will have to decide if friendship is more valuable then all of the wishes in the world. L.T. Suzuki weaves a laugh out loud tale of three unlikely companions who have to deal with angry fairies, crazy mime loving sorcerers, monstrous cheese making trolls, inebriated elves, hairy little dwarves, and did I mention the army of Mimes! This story is a hilarious, romping adventure of Mel Brooks proportions!
  • Blood Slave on March 04, 2013

    “OH MY GOD!” “You did this to me on purpose!” “Though I’m not proud of it, I’ll not lie.” ‘”Yes … I did this” “Oh God, I’m a slave!” Hope has had a rough life, but she adapted to survive. Surviving on the streets of Spanish Harlem isn’t easy especially for a beautiful girl who can hear everyone’s thoughts. In order to survive in the ghetto’s her only choice is to become an escort to the Colombian cartel. She wants nothing more than to escape this life of crime, drugs, sex and pain. What she does not realize is that she will soon trade one life of pain for another. Enrique is handsome, powerful, and a Master Vampire. He is her savior, he captor, her lover, and her torment. How can you fall in love with a monster? Hope cannot read Enrique’s mind so she does not trust him. She cannot decipher what is truth and what is desperation born from vampire venom. Lost in the throws of addiction and her confusion over her feelings for Enrique, Hope’s character remains strong. The chemistry that explodes across the pages between Hope and Enrique will have you panting and fanning yourself every other page. Can there be a happy ending for a Vampire and his Blood Slave? Blood Slave is a brutally honest tale of lust, blood, violence, pain, and pleasure all rolled together into a powerful tale that will have you up all night devouring each page. Travis Luedke is a master storyteller that gets down to the honest raw emotions that drive us and make us all slaves.
  • Vampire Origins - The Strigoi Book 1 - Project Ichorous on May 04, 2013
    (no rating)
    Vampire Origins: Project Ichorous is a tale rich with history, legends, and myths. The idea that Vampires have been around since the dawn of time is not a new one, but what is fascinating are the different groups or races of vampires that are brought to life in the pages of this story. Strigoi, Cambion, Strix, Nosferatu and Bretonnian have existed right beside of humans throughout time. In Book 1 we are introduced to Vlad Strigoi. He, like most evil villains, has plans for world domination. The only person who can save the human race from being enslaved is one of Vlad’s descendants-a human Strigoi. Scarlett Fraser is a lot of things, but the savior of the human race was not something that she had on her Bucket List. Scarlett and her family are thrown into a world they never knew existed and a fight they aren’t sure they can win. Can Scarlett thwart Vlad’s plans, or will she become a monster just like him. Riley Banks is a very talented author who creates worlds that you can get lost in. Vampire Origins is a complex world that has many characters and back stories. The author does a fabulous job of not confusing the reader, but still supplying the needed information for the story and what has lead up to the current issues. Scarlett is a determined, stubborn, and very likeable character. The fact that she is a teenager and still finding her way, adds depth and more meaning to all that she learns along the way. From the time I picked up this book until the last page I was captivated by the challenges and life altering situations that Scarlett and her family kept finding themselves in. Fans of The Vampire Diaries and The Vampire Academy will love Vampire Origins!