Vanessa Hamlin


This member has not published any books.

Smashwords book reviews by Vanessa Hamlin

  • Dark Twisted Tales on Dec. 30, 2011

    Dark Twisted Tales is a quick read novella consisting of five separate and unrelated stories. The title of the novella is quite apropos for the tales inside. I would not stick this novella in the category of horror, but the tales a definitely creepy reads. I was able to read the entire novella in about two hours. With it consisting of five stories I would recommend this as travel read. I love to read this type of book while traveling via airplane. The lengths of the stories are perfect for waiting for the other travelers to board the plane or while waiting at a short layover. I travel by plane often and I look for this specific type of book to travel with. Inside the Envelope gives readers a glimpse into how past deeds have a way of finding you not only when you least expect it, but also by the method of delivery. The Maple Tree is the sad tale of the bunch. Kyle and his mother are running from an evil in their lives. Being the new kid at school and eager to make new friends Kyle never questions some of the oddities about his new friend Johnny, or perhaps it is just the naiveté of a young teen. Johnny is a good friend though and there for Kyle when he needs him. Lured was my least favorite of the group. I think it shows that perhaps you should sometimes ignore the things you think you may see. Chasing the things that your overactive imagination allows you to see can often lure you to trouble. A Cute Little House with one very creepy room! The potential new renter gets a little more than she ever dreamed possible while checking out her little fixer upper rental property. A Matter of Conscience… yeah sometimes that voice in your head NEEDS to be ignored. A gentleman who has lost his job and continues to watch his life spiral down the toilet there after learned that lesson the hard way.
  • Cat's First Kiss on March 09, 2012

    Cat’s First Kiss is an awesome little short story that Stephanie has given her fans, people like me that are just dying to get their hands on Cat and Tivr’s story. It is a sweet tale that let’s readers know some of the effects of Cat absorbing Lucy’s powers. Her loved ones have noticed how it has changed her. They are worried about her. Cat and Tivr have small roles in many of Stephanie’s books across the different series.
  • Inertia (Impulse, Book One) on Dec. 05, 2012

    Inertia is a wonderfully written tale and first book in the Impulse Series by Amelia Gormley. I found the book appropriately named as inertia is defined as a body resisting motion; thus our characters Derrick and Gavin. Derrick and Gavin are opposites yet subtly alike. Gavin is out-going and flirtatious, Derrick, the handyman, is shy, reserved and very set in his ways. Both men battle issues that add to the dynamics of their desired feeling s for each other and the story. Gavin is dealing with a past abusive relationship and Derrick, grief; thus making him relationship challenged. Ms. Gormley’s tale of the two men is brilliant and endearing. She takes the reader through the trials & tribulations and the vulnerabilities of a new relationship, where life issues occur and insecurities abode. The characters are compelling in their everyday lives, real men seeking change and love. They were neither fake nor made-up problems and lives. Inertia was whimsical and appealing, leaving a smile on my face. The sexual encounters were well developed; timid yet alluring as both men cautiously approach their union and desire to move to the next level. I look forward to reading and reviewing the second book in the series and watching their relationship develop and unfold. If Inertia is a body resisting motion then I can only imagine what the Acceleration of the body will bring.
  • Acceleration (Impulse, Book Two) on Dec. 05, 2012

    Acceleration, book 2 of Amelia Gormley’s Impulse Series definitely lives up to its name. In book one we meet shy, sexually stunted Derrick and out-going, enigmatic Gavin at the beginning of their relationship. Acceleration picks up where Impulse left off so reading the books in order is highly suggested. Acceleration further delves into their loving yet rocky relationship. Both men’s insecurities come to the forefront as they attempt to internally find themselves as well as a couple. Gavin, as he faces the insecurities that linger from his mentally abusive ex-boyfriend attempts to help Derrick discover the art of sex through exploration and letting go. The sexual chemistry is off the chart as Gavin and Derrick discover their sexual proclivities and desires; both men feeling completely charged and satisfied. Ms. Gormley does a wonderful job of describing their uncertainties and desires. The story is gripping in her characterization, as she articulates the difficulties they experience in learning to love themselves and each other; gaining a sense of comfort that in each other anything is possible. The book is commanding and candid; there are no expectant fairy tales as life charges full force throughout the novel. The story will keep you interested and waiting for the third book in the series. A wonderful contemporary romance with real life issues that will leave you begging for more.