Dreams of the Compass Rose

Rated 5.00/5 based on 1 review
"A clever concoction of vignettes and short stories knitted into a morality tale about the temptation of illusion and the price of truth... an exotic setting reminiscent of Tanith Lee's Flat Earth series.... The author's sumptuous language will resonate with Lord Dunsany and Clark Ashton Smith fans.... Nazarian's vital themes and engaging characters are sure to entertain." (Publishers Weekly) More
Available ebook formats: epub mobi pdf rtf lrf pdb txt html
First 15% Sample: epub mobi (Kindle) lrf more Online Reader
About Vera Nazarian

VERA NAZARIAN is a two-time Nebula Award Finalist, 2018 Dragon Award Finalist, award-winning artist, a member of Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, and a writer with a penchant for moral fables and stories of intense wonder, true love, and intricacy.

She immigrated to the USA from the former USSR as a kid, sold her first story at the age of 17, and since then has published numerous works in anthologies and magazines, and has seen her fiction translated into eight languages.

She is the author of critically acclaimed novels DREAMS OF THE COMPASS ROSE and LORDS OF RAINBOW, the outrageous parodies MANSFIELD PARK AND MUMMIES and NORTHANGER ABBEY AND ANGELS AND DRAGONS, and most recently, PRIDE AND PLATYPUS: MR. DARCY'S DREADFUL SECRET in her humorous and surprisingly romantic Supernatural Jane Austen Series, as well as the Renaissance epic fantasy COBWEB BRIDE Trilogy.

Her bestselling and award-winning series THE ATLANTIS GRAIL is now a cross-genre phenomenon -- a high-octane YA / teen dystopian apocalyptic science fiction adventure, romance, and historical mystery thriller -- has been optioned for film, and is in development as a major motion picture franchise or TV series.

After many years in Los Angeles, Vera lives in a small town in Vermont, and uses her Armenian sense of humor and her Russian sense of suffering to bake conflicted pirozhki and make art.

Her official author website is http://www.veranazarian.com

To be notified when new books come out, subscribe to the Mailing List:

Read Vera Nazarian's Smashwords Interview
Learn more about Vera Nazarian

Also by This Author

Also by This Publisher

Reviews of Dreams of the Compass Rose by Vera Nazarian

rerussell reviewed on Aug. 26, 2010

You will find this book hard to put down and it will stay with you long after you've read the last word on the last page.

I've read several short stories by Vera and really enjoyed the richly textured, beautifuly crafted worlds she creates.
"Dreams of the Compass Rose" is a wonderous feast of "Dreams" (as each story is called). You find that each Dream is connected to the Dreams before and after it; and each Dream pulls you farther and farther into the Compass Rose. Not only will you enjoy your stay there, you won't want to leave.

You will find yourself treasuring each Dream, hungering for the next one and afraid that the Dreams will end -- which they -- and the only way to fight that fear, is to realize that you will read "Dreams of the Compass Rose" again and again. And each time, the Dreams will be new.

Enter the world of "Dreams of the Compass Rose" -- you'll be glad you did.
(review of free book)
Report this book