The Call of Distant Shores

Rated 4.00/5 based on 1 reviews
Thirteen tales of Elder Gods, Darkness, horror and Lovecraftian madness by Bram Stoker Award Winning author David Niall Wilson. From crazed sculpting tenants, to giant wooden cockroaches, to Tarot cards and a creepy old barber shop, these stories lead through doorways and down corridors that are not of this world. Published for the first time in this volume is the story Anomaly. More

Available ebook formats: epub mobi pdf lrf pdb html

First 20% Sample: mobi (Kindle) lrf pdb Online Reader
About David Niall Wilson

David Niall Wilson has been writing and publishing horror, dark fantasy, and science fiction since the mid-eighties. His novels include, Vintage Soul, The Mote in Andrea's Eye, Deep Blue, the Grails Covenant Trilogy, Star Trek Voyager: Chrysalis, Except You Go Through Shadow, This is My Blood, and the Dark Ages Vampire clan novel Lasombra, On the Third Day, The Orffyreus Wheel, and the upcoming novels Maelstrom and (with Patricia Lee Macomber) the recent novel Stargate Atlantis: Brimstone. He has over 150 short stories published in five collections, one of which, Defining Moments, was nominated for the Bram Stoker Award in 2007. He has won the Bram Stoker Award for his poetry, and his short fiction. He wrote the screenplay for the movie GODHEAD, released in 2007 from Blurgirl Productions. ( ) – his Dark Noir Comedy KILLER GREEN has just been optioned by Ambergris Films.

David is founder and CEO of Crossroad Press, an up-and-coming digital and audiobook publishing house.

David lives and loves with Patricia Lee Macomber in the historic William R. White House in Hertford, NC with their children, Billy, Zach, Zane, and Katie, occasionally his college genius daughter Stephanie, two Pekingese, and some fish.

Also by This Author

Also by This Publisher

Readers of This Book Also Read


Review by: Voice Spider on March 6, 2012 :
Though some of the stories contained within this collection aren't exactly Cthulhuian or Elder God stuff, they do hold true to Lovecraftian storytelling. The writing is well done and the stories themselves are very well planned out and executed wonderfully. Each is fairly unique in what they present to the reader and the subject matter they contain.

As with all collections, some stories were more enjoyable than others. Wilson himself admits that he has never really considered himself a fan of Lovecraft, but in saying that, it helps rather than hinders his writing in this collection. It means he doesn't stick to the tropes of the material and instead branches out into other areas.

So why four stars you ask? Because as mentioned above, as with all anthologies, there are stories I enjoyed, and others that I cared less for where it seemed that the author was perhaps trying too hard to stretch his wings in areas he was not experienced in writing. ('Death, and His Brother Sleep' being the first that comes to mind) Though one can hardly be faulted for trying new things, I feel that perhaps they could have been refined before seeing publication with other, more successful stories.

That said, I do recommend this book, and from the looks at reviews on other sites, so do many others. If you are a fan of Lovecraft's style, check out this book. Many of the stories will have you coming back to the anthology time and time again after you set it down.
(reviewed 6 months after purchase)
Report this book