Fiction » Literature » Literary

Our Dance
By
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 3,130. Language: English. Published: August 2, 2014. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
"Our Dance" follows the triumphs and failures of two cousins as they turn eighteen-years-old and receive a "per cap" from the Kiowa Tribe. After they make questionable decisions with their spending habits, they attempt to redeem themselves in the eyes of the tribal community. On the surface, this is a story about two young men spending their per cap money, but underneath are deep tribal kinships.
Mug Half-full
By
Price: $1.50 USD. Words: 2,050. Language: English. Published: May 20, 2014. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
A short story about an encounter between two people in a coffee shop who discover that they have something in common.
Wallpaper
By
Series: Short Stories, Book 2. Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 2,830. Language: English. Published: August 20, 2014. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
(5.00 from 1 review)
Cracks start to show in the fabric of a family during their daughter's piano recital in 'Wallpaper', a story by Laurie Steed. "Laurie Steed's stories are sometimes tender, sometimes brutal, and always beautifully written. He is a writer to watch." – Ryan O'Neill
A Strange One
By
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 5,460. Language: English. Published: September 26, 2012 by Mendicant Bookworks. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
Mendicant Bookworks presents literary short fiction by Pushcart nominee William Taylor, Jr.
If You Go Into The Woods
By
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 6,020. Language: English. Published: April 30, 2011. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
(3.92 from 26 reviews)
If You Go Into The Woods is a collection of two unsettling short stories. In the title story, Jiri Beranek is drawn to a nearby forest, but each time he enters, his desire to see the mysterious birds is checked by his fear of the dark. When he finally forces himself to go farther, he find a new reason to be afraid. Plus bonus story: The Reset Button. Total length 4000 words.
I'd Never Been Shot for Real Before
By
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 5,160. Language: English. Published: June 25, 2014. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
I’d Never Been Shot for Real Before takes readers through a post-9/11 world of sex clubs, bankruptcy cubicle farms and guns that definitely go off. This blackly comic short story will be a favourite for fans of Please, Peter Darbyshire’s award-winning and critically acclaimed first book.
Please Stop Breathing
By
Price: $5.99 USD. Words: 11,090. Language: English. Published: July 4, 2011. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
No, I don’t know when you’ll die, when you’ve died, or why I don’t know—I should—I owed that much to you, to know death better to give you comfort in it—to know brightly when you’re here, to dig my fingers like forever into your neck—to know easily when you’re gone, to dig my fingers into mine— To cover you and carry you away.
Nazar
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 4,160. Language: English. Published: November 13, 2009. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
(5.00 from 2 reviews)
The award-winning short story by Andrew Kooman, winner of the 2004 Hobson Prize for Fiction. A young Canadian college student tutors Nazar, a refugee from Afghanistan, in English. Unable to communicate with each other beyond basic words and signs, the young man tries to piece together the story of Nazar’s flight from the Taliban, through Pakistan into Canada.
Never Apologize; a Dream of New York City
By
Price: $1.49 USD. Words: 8,250. Language: English. Published: December 25, 2013. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
(5.00 from 1 review)
Richard Burley is suffering from writer's block, and takes a long bike ride to clear his head. He covers more ground than he'd ever imagined possible, as the first snow of the season begins to fall, and he is confronted by possibilities he'd never considered before.
The Story of Albert Ross
By
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 4,020. Language: British English. Published: July 9, 2012. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
(4.00 from 2 reviews)
'The Story of Albert Ross' tells the tale of a simple man who spends the vast majority of his time in front of his TV. It is delightfully dark, occasionally witty, oddly enchanting and brings new meaning to the term 'the power of television'. It's hard to say much more without spoiling the fun of reading it, so just get on with it and download it right now.
The Coffin Lady of Crosby
By
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 4,010. Language: English. Published: July 30, 2010. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
(5.00 from 1 review)
When you have death staring you in the face, what else can you do but build a coffin? This simple question transforms a life, revealing an unexpected blessing. Winner of 2010 Canis Latran Editor's Choice Award.
Three Stories
By
Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 7,690. Language: English. Published: August 20, 2014. Category: Fiction » Literature » Literary
Three stories by award-winning Australian writer Laurie Steed in the one volume: Orbiting: Fire threatens and old loves rear their head as Sophie endures a summer of extremes. Wallpaper: Cracks start to show in the fabric of a family during their daughter's piano recital. The Lost Podcast: A father and son, one present, and one absent, share respective realities in a New Yorker Fiction Podcast