Arcane Solutions (Discord Jones 1)

Adult
Rated 4.80/5 based on 5 reviews
Rescuing under-aged vamp bait and retrieving stolen possessions is all in a day’s work for Discord Jones.

When a gorgeous, lying bastard of an elf hires her to find an ancient book, danger takes on a whole new meaning.

The book holds an unbelievably powerful spell, and ‘favored prey of demons’ becomes an unwelcome addition to her resume.

A novel of 70,632 words.

Available formats: epub mobi pdf rtf lrf pdb html

First 10% Sample: epub mobi (Kindle) lrf more Online Reader
Published by Katarr Kanticles Press
Words: 71,190
Language: English
ISBN: 9781452464510
About Gayla Drummond

Puppy rescuer and equine slave who loves to write and entertain people. She writes scifi as G. L. Drummond, urban fantasy and other things as Gayla Drummond.

Visit her author website at GLDrummond.com (http://gldrummond.com), follow her on Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/G.L.Drummond) or on Twitter (https://twitter.com/Scath).

Next Release: Something to Curse About, Book 2 of the Discord Jones urban fantasy series. Website: http://discordjones.com

Also in Discord Jones

Also by This Author

Also by This Publisher

Reviews

Review by: A.M. Harte on Feb. 20, 2012 :
Arcane Solutions is a quick and fun paranormal detective story recommended for fans of HP Mallory, Kait Nolan, and Charlaine Harris.

The story follows Discordia Angel Jones, a psychic private investigator with a penchant for life threatening situations. Her boss, determined to protect his best PI, hires handsome wolf shifter Nick Maxwell to be her bodyguard. It’s lust at first sight between the two… but first they’ve got to find a missing girl, fend off vampire attacks, and stop a demonic cult from ending the world. Just another day on the job for Discord Jones….

This is a quick, escapist read which I raced through in a few hours. As befitting of the genre, the prose is stripped back and casual, and the plot fairly easy to follow. It has the requisite hunks, a kickass heroine, and offers a fresh take on the paranormal world – if this sounds like your cup of tea, don’t hesitate to read it.

Discordia falls into the tough, independent and headstrong heroine category — although thankfully intelligent enough not to make stupid, obvious mistakes. Born a human, she gained psychic abilities when the paranormal and human worlds melded, but unlike any other psychic, she has multiple powers as opposed to the standard one or two.

Love interest Nick is the strong, jealous type. His jealousy doesn’t win points with me, although kudos to Discordia for challenging his attitude rather than putting up with it.

Points to Drummond as well for the captivating world building. The melding of the paranormal and human worlds is still fresh in everyone’s minds, leading to prejudice and fear between some of the characters. It’s refreshing to read a story where everyone doesn’t just calmly accept the paranormal, and the tense relationship Discord has with her step-mother adds some depth to the story.

Overall, however, Arcane Solutions is at most a guilty pleasure. I didn’t find the resolution satisfying (the explanation of the vampire attacks was an anti climax) and the ending felt rushed after the pages and pages of conspiracies and whodunnits.

That said, I am intrigued to read more. Drummond has left much unexplained: how the melding of the paranormal and human worlds happened, why Discordia has more power than any other psychic, and what secrets the shifters are hiding. Plus I’d love to know more about Leglin — you’ll have to give it a read to find out why!

In sum, if you like urban fantasy settings with a dollop of romance, then this might be one for you.
(reviewed within a month of purchase)

Review by: WendyB on Feb. 19, 2012 :
One of the best books I have read recently, full of interesting and original characters. Discord is a real "kickass" heroine who is still learning about her powers, heaven help the opposition when they are fully developed. There is not one boring character in this novel, and I can't wait for the next book in the series.
(reviewed within a month of purchase)

Review by: Christie Silver on Feb. 17, 2012 :
I enjoyed every moment spent reading this book. Drummond's characters had amazing depth. The heroine made me feel like I was 22 again. I wanted to learn everything there was to know about this world and had a hard time accomplishing anything else until I finished it! I can't wait for the next one.
(reviewed within a month of purchase)

Review by: headbees on Feb. 08, 2012 :
Drummond again masters the art of tightly knitting a Heinlein heroine with Whedonesque dialog in a world where paranormal seems normal. The first book in the Discord Jones series is dramatic and saturated with action but lightened up with considerable sarcastic and situational humor-- there's a self-defense scene that made me laugh so loud I woke the baby. (In fact, once I started I was only able to put it down when his naps were over. I didn't even remember to eat!)
(reviewed within a month of purchase)

Review by: Tonya Cannariato on Jan. 25, 2012 :
I'm thrilled to finally see this in print, after having been granted the privilege of both beta reading and editing this book. It's a fun ride through an urban fantasy version of a not-too-distant future where magical realms have Merged into the land we know. Cordi is a strong protagonist who will appeal to Mercy Thompson fans, who appreciate an everyday gal who is fumbling her way through accepting and working with some unexpected skills.
(reviewed the day of purchase)

Print Edition

Report this book