Powers vs. Power Book Two

Rated 4.00/5 based on 1 reviews
Sun Man divides his loyalties between the Neighborhood Heroes and his corporate backers. Randall Moss' friend Marcus takes up the Knighthawk persona. A dream of war almost kills them both.

Supervillains trash Beverly Hills. One child is lost and another is found. When will the heroes have to face Void, the man with the voice of death?

Available formats: epub mobi pdf rtf lrf pdb txt html

First 50% Sample: epub mobi (Kindle) lrf more Online Reader
Words: 35,840
Language: English
ISBN: 9781458166746
About Robin Reed

Robin Reed lives somewhere in the vicinity of Los Angeles, with cats.

Also by This Author

Reviews

Review by: Mike Dominic on Aug. 23, 2010 :
Writing prose about superheroes can be a difficult task because the visual aspect on which the medium of comics depends is missing. "Biff!" and "Pow" don't parse the same in a non-graphic form. This means that the stories, if they're not to be entirely juvenile, have to be a lot more character driven. The problem is then to avoid the pitfall of turning the work into fanfic, making the characters cheap pastiches of existing heroes or winding up hip deep in long descriptions of powers and physiques. Robin manages to avoid these dangers quite nicely and has created a cast with a fair amount of depth and personality. Yet, the work does not cross over much into Alan Moore territory; this is not a deconstruction of the genre. Superheroes in this world are a good thing, and there's a good sense of fun and wonder in these stories as well. I think these books will be enjoyed by anyone who actually likes superheroes.
Fans of "Watchmen" and "Astro City" and other intelligently written superhero fiction will definitely enjoy both volumes of Powers vs. Power, and as for me, I'm looking forward to Volume 3.
(reviewed within a month of purchase)

Report this book