Elizabeth Chater

Biography

Elizabeth Chater was the author of more than 24 novels and countless short stories. She received a B.A. from the University of British Columbia and an M.A. from San Diego State University, and joined the faculty of the latter in 1963 where she began a lifelong friendship with science fiction author Greg Bear. She was honored with The Distinguished Teacher award in 1969, and was awarded Outstanding Professor of the Year in 1977. After receiving her Professor Emeritus, she embarked on a new career as a novelist with Richard Curtis as her agent. In the 1950s and 60s she published short stories in Fantastic Universe Magazine and The Saint Mystery Magazine, and she won the Publisher's Weekly short story contest in 1975. She went on to publish 22 romance novels over an 8 year period. She also wrote under the pen names Lee Chater, Lee Chaytor, and Lisa Moore. For more information, please visit http://www.elizabethchater.com.

Where to find Elizabeth Chater online


Books

Lauren's Designs
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 51,560. Language: English. Published: June 14, 2013 by Chater Publishing. Categories: Fiction » Romance » Contemporary
With one of the biggest fashion competitions of the year being held on the luxury ocean liner, Queen Elizabeth II, Lauren Rose finally has a shot to get her fashion line, September Song, to new heights. But when she meets the exciting playboy Mike, a passion builds between them that threatens to overwhelm her and could destroy everything she’s worked for. FORMERLY PUBLISHED AS SEPTEMBER SONG
Miss Sillithorpe's Hobby
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 4,800. Language: English. Published: February 9, 2012 by Chater Publishing. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Short Stories
(3.00)
A car looks as if it's hit a brick wall, but it hasn't impacted anything. The jewel thief inside is killed instantly, and paranormal detective Jamie Jarvis is put on the case. A short story.
Infernal Triangle
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 7,420. Language: English. Published: February 7, 2012 by Chater Publishing. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Short Stories
Paranormal detective Jamie Jarvis has to solve the murder of a lord's valet.
The Treasure of Mars
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 9,620. Language: English. Published: February 6, 2012 by Chater Publishing. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » Short stories
An alien creature crawls in from the desert with talk of treaure.
Operation Disaster
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 7,840. Language: English. Published: January 25, 2012 by Chater Publishing. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » Adventure
(5.00)
In a post-apocalyptic world, there’s a million-to-one chance that Steve Vannevar can succeed where the rest of the Suicide Squad had failed. Succeed, that is, in traveling back in time—reaching back into the months or weeks before that first attack, and persuading the nations of the Earth to hold their fire for the sake of the human race. A short story.
The Brotherhood of Darkness
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 8,790. Language: English. Published: January 21, 2012 by Chater Publishing. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Short Stories
Paranormal police detective Jamie Jarvis investigates a murder in the monastic cult, The Brotherhood of Darkness. A short story
How Not to Make a Dress
Price: Free! Words: 9,270. Language: English. Published: December 25, 2011 by Chater Publishing. Categories: Fiction » Romance » General, Fiction » Humor & comedy » General
(4.33)
A humorous look at one woman's battle with a sewing project.
Ugly Earthling
Price: Free! Words: 5,610. Language: English. Published: December 9, 2011 by Chater Publishing. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » Adventure, Fiction » Science fiction » Short stories
A girl believes she doesn't fit anywhere until she gets a visit from an alien. A short story.
Backyard Universe
Price: Free! Words: 2,250. Language: English. Published: December 5, 2011 by Chater Publishing. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » General, Fiction » Science fiction » Short stories
The power of the imagination reigns supreme as a mother and her son troll a junkyard for the parts to build a spaceship in their backyard.
The Big Sling
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 69,610. Language: English. Published: December 5, 2011 by Chater Publishing. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » Adventure, Fiction » Science fiction » Space opera
(4.00)
After being falsely accused of murder, Captain Mark Rand sets out to bring down his accuser, the wealthiest and most corrupt man in the solar system. Fans of Joss Whedon's FIREFLY and S.A. Corey's LEVIATHAN WAKES will love this.
A Course in Murder
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 47,200. Language: English. Published: November 28, 2011 by Chater Publishing. Categories: Fiction » Young adult or teen » Mystery & Detective, Fiction » Mystery & detective » Women Sleuths
(3.83)
After college student Button Gwinnett witnesses and becomes a suspect for a murder, she sets off to clear her name and reveal the killer, before she becomes the next victim!

Elizabeth Chater's tag cloud