Katherine Lampe

Biography

Some people posit that Katherine Lampe is a construct capable of existing in multiple realities simultaneously. Others maintain that she is a changeling, or at least has a large proportion of non-human blood. It is possible that her brain is the result of a government experiment, although which government is uncertain and as of this date none has claimed responsibility.

Smashwords Interview

When did you first start writing?
I don't actually remember. Pretty early on, I wrote a poem about my grandmother's early life; my dad kept it in a folder on his desk until he died. I don't know what became of it afterward. And I knew I wanted to be a writer by second grade, because when our teacher praised another girl' s story--it was a Bobsey Twins pastiche and its only virtue was its length--I said, "I'm going to be a writer, not her!" It seemed I was always coming up with stories. I turned out my first novel the summer after eighth grade. In ninth grade I entered it in a school contest and won a prize, although in retrospect it was pretty awful. After that, writing was always something I did.
What's the story behind your latest book?
The Cruel Mother, which is the fifth book in my Caitlin Ross series, was a difficult book for me. I had the idea for it quite early on, maybe even before I completed the first book in the series. I knew I wanted to take Caitlin back to her roots and explore her past and her family of origin. It's a personal book in a way none of my others are, because Caitlin came from an emotionally dysfunctional family, and so did I. And that made me frightened of writing it. I didn't want to risk any of my relatives reading it and coming down on me because they took characters and situations too personally. So for a couple years I avoided writing it. I tried at least six different plots for book five and discarded tens of thousands of words. The stories I wrote were fine stories, but they weren't the right stories, and I'd inevitably get a few hundred pages into the manuscript and hate it. Finally, I bit the bullet and returned to my original concept. It was the right thing to do, and what I learned from this is that you have to face the fear of what you need to say and say it anyway.
Read more of this interview.

Where to find Katherine Lampe online


Where to buy in print


Books

Demon Lover
By
Series: Caitlin Ross. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 100,640. Language: English. Published: August 2, 2014. Category: Fiction » Fantasy » Paranormal
(5.00)
The reappearance of an old flame throws Caitlin and Timber into a tailspin as they await the imminent birth of their first child.
The Cruel Mother
By
Series: Caitlin Ross. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 105,750. Language: English. Published: September 2, 2013. Category: Fiction » Fantasy » Paranormal
(5.00)
When Caitlin Ross returns to her childhood home to face her mother’s impending death, she becomes involved with a teenager whose bizarre troubles shed new light on Caitlin’s own past.
The Fits o' the Season
By
Series: Caitlin Ross. Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 32,270. Language: English. Published: December 9, 2012. Category: Fiction » Fantasy » Contemporary
(4.80)
A troubled soul who walks the narrow path between healer and warrior, Timber MacDuff is doomed to a future he does not want to face. This novella, comprised of four closely-linked stories, follows Timber from the darkness of his youth to a present of bright possibility.
The Parting Glass
By
Series: Caitlin Ross. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 96,180. Language: English. Published: October 30, 2012. Category: Fiction » Fantasy » Contemporary
(5.00)
The disappearance of a Native American medicine man throws Caitlin Ross together with a mysterious—and all too attractive—stranger who will change her life. Fourth in the Caitlin Ross series, this book jumps back in time to the beginning of Caitlin’s partnership with Timber MacDuff.
Dragons of the Mind: Seven Fairy Tales
By
Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 66,360. Language: English. Published: August 21, 2012. Category: Fiction » Fantasy » Short stories
(5.00)
A collection of original and re-imagined fairy tales for mature readers.
A Maid in Bedlam
By
Series: Caitlin Ross. Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 143,400. Language: English. Published: August 10, 2012. Category: Fiction » Fantasy » Contemporary
(5.00)
When Caitlin's husband falls under the sway of an old enemy, she must risk everything to save his soul and see justice done. Third in the Caitlin Ross series.
She Moved Through the Fair
By
Series: Caitlin Ross. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 88,170. Language: English. Published: August 9, 2012. Category: Fiction » Fantasy » Contemporary
(5.00)
A murder at a local music festival pits Caitlin Ross against a mage bent on obtaining a wish-granting amulet that leaves chaos in its wake. The second book in the Caitlin Ross series is "Even better than the first!"
The Unquiet Grave
By
Series: Caitlin Ross. Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 115,080. Language: English. Published: August 8, 2012. Category: Fiction » Fantasy » Contemporary
(5.00)
When witch Caitlin Ross stumbles on a magician's plot to raise a violent demon, she must reclaim power she once renounced to thwart his plans. First in the Caitlin Ross series.

Katherine Lampe's favorite authors on Smashwords


Smashwords book reviews by Katherine Lampe

  • Aurora Borealis: Heated Arguments on Oct. 18, 2012

    A really entertaining space opera in the vein of Firefly, "Heated Arguments" features well-rounded characters, snappy dialog, and fast-paced action. Hints of other adventures make me want to know more about the characters and their world. My only criticisms are that the manuscript could have used better proof-reading and that the ending left too many unanswered questions for me to be completely satisfied. Kudos, Keri Dudas!