JJ Toner

Biography

Full time writer of short stories and thrillers since 2007. So far (Aug 2016), I have written six novels and a collection of short SF stories. I live in Ireland.

Smashwords Interview

When you're not writing, how do you spend your time?
1. Reading. I have about 20 of books on my to-read list.
2. I like to go to the cinema about once per week.
3. Gardening. We have a quarter acre that needs constant attention.
4. Facebook and Twitter take up a couple of hours each day.
5. Dreaming up ideas for my next book.
6. Supporting my 3 children and 2 grandchildren.
How do you discover the ebooks you read?
Through contacts with other writers, mostly, although Amazon send me suggestions that sometimes catch my eye.
Read more of this interview.

Where to find JJ Toner online


Where to buy in print


Books

A Postcard from Hamburg
Series: The Black Orchestra, Book 3. Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 74,740. Language: English. Published: April 12, 2016. Categories: Fiction » Adventure » War & military adventure, Fiction » Historical » United Kingdom
1943. WW2 is raging in Europe. Kurt Müller is living in London. While working for British Intelligence he discovers a photograph of his girlfriend, Gudrun, among the possessions of a German agent. Then he gets a postcard from Gudrun, posted in Germany, and he knows the Gestapo has taken her…
Tattooist
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 3,320. Language: English. Published: April 3, 2016. Categories: Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Action & suspense
A young man living on the Dingle peninsula in Ireland meets a visitor from London with fatal consequences.
Zugzwang (a short story)
Price: Free! Words: 12,520. Language: English. Published: April 5, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Historical, Fiction » Mystery & detective » Police Procedural
(4.50)
Germany, March 1933. Adolf Hitler and the Nazi Party have swept into power. In Munich, Kommissar Saxon of the civilian police force is hunting a brutal killer that stalks the streets of the city. But the shadow of the Schutzstaffel (SS) hangs over Saxon and his assistant, making their task close to impossible.
The Wings of the Eagle
Series: The Black Orchestra, Book 2. Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 78,820. Language: English. Published: February 9, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Adventure » War & military adventure, Fiction » Historical » United Kingdom
A WW2 spy story. 1943. Kurt Muller and a young colleague parachute into southern Germany to rescue a British-Canadian agent. The war in Europe is effectively over, but the Nazis will never accept defeat. An Abwehr deserter and member of the German resistance -- the Black Orchestra -- with a price on his head, Kurt finds himself in a race to prevent the Nazis from developing the first Atomic bomb.
The Black Orchestra
Series: The Black Orchestra, Book 1. Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 91,100. Language: English. Published: January 13, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Historical » General, Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Spies & espionage
(4.00)
It is 1940. The German war machine is devouring Western Europe. In Berlin, a military intelligence signalman discovers a colleague lying dead at his radio receiver... This is the story of one man’s journey through darkness to enlightenment. A cracking spy story, it is a tale of corruption and redemption, of fear and courage, of loyalty and betrayal -- and of love.
Ovolution and Other Stories
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 38,770. Language: English. Published: June 6, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author, Fiction » Science fiction » Short stories
(4.50)
A collection of short stories for the Science Fiction connoisseur. If you’re looking for fun, surprises, and thought-provoking satire, read these stories. Originally published in 2011, this second edition of Ovolution and Other Stories contains 9 original stories and 4 flash fiction pieces released from my story vault, all written in the tradition of R. A. Lafferty and Douglas Adams.

JJ Toner's tag cloud

JJ Toner's favorite authors on Smashwords


Smashwords book reviews by JJ Toner

  • The Clone Trial on Sep. 11, 2011

    Bill Owen's short story The Clone Trial is set in the not-too-distant future when human reproduction has hit a wall, and cloning has taken its place. Laws have been put in place to limit these activities. Also clones are prohibited from reproducing. This is where I had my biggest problem with the premise of the story, as I couldn't understand how the human race was supposed to survive under these restraints. Anyway, the story concerns itself with a human who is accused of murdering one of his clones. The jury is made up of an assortment of beings from around the Galaxy, including a shape-shifter and a being who can mesmerize others into telling the truth. It occurred to me that this last ability could have been used by the authorities to get to the bottom of the matter at hand entirely without the aid of a jury. Indeed, I would have thought the whole justice system could have had a makeover based on this ability alone. The whole thing takes place in the jury room as they consider their verdict. Notwithstanding the occasional flashes from the Cloning Commission to help explain the laws and regulations, and a couple of glaring info-dumps, this is a fun read - a sort of 12 Angry Men with aliens. I particularly liked the wonderful talking bird who seemed to suffer from Tourette's Syndrome. I think Bill could have made more of the story. It could have been as much as 100% longer, allowing more time and space to feed the background information to the reader in a more digestible form, and maybe exploring some of the alternative plot lines.
  • Cornerstone on Dec. 08, 2011

    I don't usually read paranormal ya. I like ya books, but I try to steer clear of the paranormal ones. I'm glad I read this one, though. When it started, I thought Nali's mom was just off her head; I couldn't see how this aspect of the story was going to end up anywhere good. (I have a friend who hoards newspapers and his house is just the way Nali's is). The explanation and the other paranormal elements were more than a tad wacky, I thought, but the drama and romance came through. Good job, Misty.