Artifice Comics

Publisher info

Artifice Comics is a shared continuity universe. All of our stories take place in the same world, parts of a larger story that encompasses the site as a whole.

Where to find Artifice Comics online


Where to buy in print


Publisher of



Bento Box #20
Price: Free! Words: 3,710. Language: American English. Published: February 3, 2017 by Artifice Comics. Categories: Fiction » Adventure » Action, Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - multi-author
Do you, as Nada Surf once sung, wanna know what it's like on the inside of love? We can't promise you that, no matter how close to Valentine's Day we are, but we can promise you a vacation without a mask and an understanding of what it's like on the inside... of a lunar power infused suit of armour! We're good like that! Recommended for fans of lucha libre wrestling and tokusatsu metal heroes!
Bento Box #19
Price: Free! Words: 6,270. Language: American English. Published: December 29, 2016 by Artifice Comics. Categories: Fiction » Adventure » Action, Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - multi-author
In the wake of Atlantic City's destruction by the youth cult of Millennium Man, Jeffery Carter searches for his one-time apprentice, Alex Custer, in a bid to discover more and the mysterious faction of rogue super-beings. Meanwhile, in the Philippines, there is treasure and rewards waiting to be had for the brave. Recommended for fans of Neil Gaiman, Alan Moore, and Grant Morrison.
Love Amongst Strangers: Careless Whispers
Price: Free! Words: 2,030. Language: American English. Published: December 26, 2016 by Artifice Comics. Categories: Fiction » Adventure » Action, Fiction » Religious
In memory of George Michael, Artifice Comics presents Careless Whispers by Jason S. Kenney named after the WHAM! singer's seminal hit, Careless Whisper. Searching for a way to control a magical scarab, Jeffery Carter ventures to Golders Green in London in search of Hana Abramczyk and her magical heritage. Recommended for fans of Doctor Who, Buffy, and Hellblazer.
Ho Ho Horrible Tragedy Forced Upon Christmas!
Price: Free! Words: 2,340. Language: English. Published: December 20, 2016 by Artifice Comics. Categories: Fiction » Adventure » Action, Fiction » Holiday » Christmas
The quintessential Artifice Comics tale! Programmed to destroy super-powered beings known as Post-Moderns, the Siege Engine sets its sights on Santa Claus! Absurdist and puerile, our tale focuses on the age old problem of just what do you do when you have a mechanized killing machine replete with a database of every super-powered human on Earth and a mandate for ruining the holiday season.
Bento Box #18
Price: Free! Words: 4,720. Language: American English. Published: November 27, 2016 by Artifice Comics. Categories: Fiction » Adventure » Action, Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - multi-author
In a world where everyone wears a mask, how great a crime is it to reveal one's naked face? From a darkened interrogation cell beneath Canary Wharf to the classrooms of a society, BENTO BOX explores the meaning of masks and identity, the line between the persona we adopt for values of justice and the person our families know us as. Recommended for fans of Neil Gaiman, and Grant Morrision.
Ars Magna: Talisman
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 8,420. Language: American English. Published: August 6, 2016 by Artifice Comics. Categories: Fiction » Fantasy » Urban, Fiction » Children’s books » Monsters
An emerald dragon and a stone golem. These are not the companions Sheila Torrance expects to make within the Australian city of Pacific City, yet as she finds her life at risk from the machinations of the Christmas family, Sheila must learn how to understand the mystery of the statuettes in order to rescue her young cousin from the terror of Fenris! Recommended for fans of Harry Potter & Pokémon.
Bento Box #17
Price: Free! Words: 5,560. Language: American English. Published: April 19, 2016 by Artifice Comics. Categories: Fiction » Adventure » Action, Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - multi-author
In the weeks and months since Atlantic City was destroyed, the world is struggling to deal with the lack of details surrounding a mysterious cult of super-humans. Demonised by the press, eroticised by low-budget porn films, the Millennials remain an enigma. In the tradition of classic '90s superhero comics by Claremont and Byrne, Bento Box #17 continues to break new ground in speculative fiction.
Bento Box #16
Price: Free! Words: 7,350. Language: American English. Published: December 28, 2015 by Artifice Comics. Categories: Fiction » Adventure » Action, Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - multi-author
Almost a decade after the loss of Earth's foremost superhero, an entire city has been destroyed by a superhuman cult - and yet they are unlike him, difficult to read, their language ambiguous, their manner alien. In the tradition of classic '90s superhero comics by Claremont and Byrne, Bento Box #16 heralds a new era for speculative shared universe superhero fiction.
Blackfriars Bestiary 2.2
Price: Free! Words: 29,600. Language: British English. Published: November 5, 2015 by Artifice Comics. Categories: Fiction » Fantasy » Urban, Fiction » Fantasy » Short stories
They called it the Engine because it was driven: driven to destroy super-humans! In the Outback, the villain Dustdevil struggles to outrun fate. Meanwhile, amidst the mountains, freelance magician Ayesha Swanson and her bodyguard Mister Mo find themselves ambushed by a group of loathsome bounty hunters of terrifying skill! Recommended for fans of Doctor Who, Buffy the Vampire Slayer & Hellblazer!
Blackfriars Bestiary 2.1
Price: Free! Words: 21,930. Language: British English. Published: March 31, 2015 by Artifice Comics. Categories: Fiction » Fantasy » Urban, Fiction » Adventure » Action
Upon scorched soil, a life-pod from an alternate universe is uncovered. Inside, there is a man, bringing with him an ominous message that could sway the very future of the All-Union. Meanwhile, freelance magician, Ayesha Swanson, finds herself embroiled in a plot to rob her of her magic—a plot that may lead her to discovering her true heritage! Recommended for fans of Doctor Who & Hellblazer.
Bento Box #1
Price: Free! Words: 3,670. Language: English. Published: February 9, 2013 by Artifice Comics. Categories: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - multi-author, Fiction » Science fiction » Short stories
From the Introduction: We’ve got flesh devouring things, Shanghai in ruin, an exploding man, and a riot. Wham, bam, thank you, ma’am! How’s that for a taste of great? And we’re just getting started.
Bush43 Vol. 1: Oh, The Lameity
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 18,290. Language: English. Published: October 23, 2009 by Artifice Comics. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » General
(3.00)
When your costume is a suit, tie and George W. Bush mask it's hard to be taken seriously as a superhero. Volume 1 collects the first four issues of Bush43 and an exclusive Issue #0. Read the series Derrick Ferguson (Dillon And The Voice Of Odin) calls "Fun, light-hearted superheroics with a hint of darkness at the corners."


Artifice Comics' tag cloud

Artifice Comics' favorite authors on Smashwords